First gig, a switch from laptop to CDJ?
    Tech Student

Default First gig, a switch from laptop to CDJ?

So I'm looking for general advice here. I am relatively new to DJing, only been working at it for a couple months, but I've managed to get a spot at a sidestage at an Excision show in Milwaukee.

I've taught myself what I know using a computer and controllers, controllers really being my only choice due to economic limitations. I've been told that CDJ's and a mixer are going to be at the stage for me to use. So I am wondering about the transition from controllers to CDJ's. I am completely open to using them, as I had originally wanted to start out using them though they were too costly to invest in not actually knowing I would love DJing so much. So I want to hear from others who have made this transition, or the reverse, to get an idea of what to expect so I don't botch the whole thing.

I am asking the person im in contact with about compatibility with computers, as I know a number of of mixers and CDJ's are built compatible with programs like traktor and virtual dj, but I thought I'd throw this thread out there in case they are not, and just to see what you guys have to say cause even if they are I might just go without the laptop anyway.

if you're talking about "the Rave" you'll be fine with your controller because theres plenty of space in the booth i think you're playing in. I would wait until you actually buy and practice beatmatching on cdjs before you even think of playing out on them.

Practice transitions with no sync and just using cues and BPM values as indicators to beat matching. You could do that with any controller. It would be good to know a little bit how a CDJ works, I would recommend to for example go to the nearest well-stocked Guitar Center and try Pioneers out (suspect it's a Pioneer setup).

Kind of sad to spend money to learn a CDJ setup but it's doable with no CDJs using some pre-planning.