Traktor Audio 6 power supply question
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Traktor Audio 6 power supply question

    Hi,
    Long time lurker first time poster here.

    I've recently went and got myself a Traktor Audio 6. What I didn't know was two things:

    a) It doesn't come with a power supply
    b) You need a power supply for the direct thru feature.

    I bought it in New York, but I'm now in Iceland where these things aren't as easily available, so I can't just run up to the next store and buy an official NI power supply.

    I went to a hardware store where a guy sold me a custom power supply for my VCI 300 based on this information right here



    I went to my guy and asked for the same thing for my Audio 6, and he sent me back with no power supply. Why? Because he feels he desn't have the needed information with this:



    He then proceeded to ask me whether the plus was on the outside or the inside, which reminded me that in addition to the information on the Audio 6, my VCI 300 had this little nugget of information on the back:




    So.... Does anyone here in DJTT know the exact specifications of a Audio 6 Power Supply, apart from "9V DC 1A" ?

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,315

    Default

    $29 USD from Native Instruments
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  3. #3
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jester.NZ View Post
    $29 USD from Native Instruments
    Thank you for that Jester, but you clearly didn't read the thread as I stated "I bought it in New York, but I'm now in Iceland where these things aren't as easily available, so I can't just run up to the next store and buy an official NI power supply."

    Besides that, I think $29 is a bit steep for a power supply. The one I bought here for my VCI-300 cost me $10 (and things are more expensive in Iceland than the USA).

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    im assuming he meant via mail order...


    anyway, centre is usually positive, but if its an AC adapter and it accepts AC then it wont matter too much i dont think...but its a hungover sunday morning so i could be wrong
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  5. #5
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I have the same problem at the moment. NI's power supply is out of stock and I don't know how to hook up the poles of the power supply I bought from radioshack.

    Any help appreciated. I don't want to blow up my Audio6.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    You don't need a power supply when using the Audio 6 with a computer. If you are in a situation where the supply is needed (e.g. with Traktor DJ), any DC adapter at 9V and 1A+ will be fine.

    Edit: And as for the polarity, the NI power supply also works for powering the VCI 100, which is positive pin and negative sheath.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  7. #7
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,740

    Default

    Any guitar effect pedal power supply will work brutha.
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  8. #8
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,740

    Default

    That aside I always recommend OEM. Its worth the $29 to know it will always work and last.
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,122

    Default

    The center is grounded. I know Walmart has suitable replacements.

    You can buy a replacement from NI though. I just packaged mine up.

    As makar said though, you dont need the AC adapter.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Sure about the center being grounded? The diagram on my VCI+VCM 100 says otherwise, and they work with the NI adapter.

    It doesn't make much sense to ground the center and put power through the outer sheath.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •