New on the scene
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default New on the scene

My cousin recently gave me his Korg Kaossilator and miniKP, and let me use his laptop while he was on vacation. He had both Reason 5 and FL Studio on it, and being fascinated by the idea of DAWs, I started to mess around with it. I ended up purchasing Reason myself. The thing is however, I have no experience with it. I have enough money to buy a MIDI Controller, but I am wondering what I should get.

I am looking at

1. Korg nanoSeries2
    2. Akai MPK-mini

My spending range is around 50 - 150. I am just starting out on the scene, and my goal in music production is geared towards the House/Electro/Dance genre. So any pointers would help.

1. How friendly are the Akai MPK-mini and Reason 5?
    2. Or should I get the Korg nano's and how friendly are those?

Equipment I Own:

1. Korg Kaossilator
    2. miniKP
    3. [Waiting for a MIDI Controller (Akai MPK-mini)

Is there also any other equipment I should have as a beginner?
    Last edited by newbcake; 10-03-2011 at 10:52 PM.

I think you should just work with a mouse and keyboard for a bit. From there, you'll be able to see what kind of things would be more efficient with a control surface and pick something to fit your needs.

I don't have much experience with those software, but i think you are going to want some decent sound and your laptop soundcard wont cut it, u will need an external soundcard, and for production you probably want at least a 4 in 4 out soundcard.
    As for a controller, maybe a midi keyboard, that's what i use with fl studios, and it works great, they are all the same really, if you get a cheap one you might not get all of the fancy knobs and encoders and faders but the main thing is the keys, if they are good you wont actually need or want knobs.