S4 Versus Numark NS7 for scratching?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default S4 Versus Numark NS7 for scratching?

Hey all I've been DJing nearly 25 years, I'm basically a traditional old school Hip Hop scratch DJ (think DJ Premiere style, not Q Bert!). I've been using Traktor for 4 years now and don't really want to change (I use the vinyl control system with 1210s).

But, now I'm selling my gear and just want to replace with a single unit plus a laptop. Now I like the fact the NS7 has motorized platters as it feels more vinyl like, but I seem more drawn to the S4...also, eventually when I have a bigger studio, I'll have decks again and want to plug them into something like the S4 (which is why I don't want the S2)

So, basically, are there any scratch DJs out there used to wax but wanting to change like me to 100% digital with an opinion on these 2 systems?

Many thanks!
    2 x Technic SL1210 mk2s, MacBook 2ghz/2GB RAM/OS X 10.5.4, iMac Aluminium 2GHZ/2GB/OS X 10.5.4 & Windows XP Pro both running Traktor DJ STudio 3.4 & Traktor Scratch, Logic Pro 8, Reason 4, M Audio MK149cmk2 MIDI keyboard, Audio 8 DJ with data encoded vinyl, 2 TB Mp3s & about 1500 vinyls

Tech Mentor

I have an S4 and a rig consisting of 2 x Denon DN-S3700 and a Denon DN-X1600 mixer. I have also tried the NS7 on Itch and both my Denon rig and the NS7 are tons better for scratching than the S4. Don't get me wrong, the S4 is a great piece of equipment but for scratching on Traktor the 3700s in hybrid mode is like night and day compared to the S4.

Tech Wizard

Yeah, the S4 aint gonna win you no scratch battles =)
    I recently switched from an NS7 EFX to the S4.
    Mainly because of size and weight issues (The NS7 EFX in it's flight case weighs nearly 31Kgs!!).
    But if you really wanna scratch with a controller IMHO nothing comes close to the NS7.
    All the best!

Dope fellers, respect for the opinions!