Xone: DB4- the official unofficial thread - Page 119
Page 119 of 121 FirstFirst ... 1969109115116117118119120121 LastLast
Results 1,181 to 1,190 of 1206
  1. #1181
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Hope someone can help me here, i'm very new to the DB4 madness! lol
    When using the filters (bottom left and right ones) and the EQ filter, as soon as i put either one of them on, the sound drops and they seem to be instantly on. is this the norm? i got used to other mixers where you select a filter effect, put it on then use the dry/wet to increase from 0 to whatever.
    Not sure if im making sense, hopefully someone can decipher the above lol

  2. #1182
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Depends which filter you have selected. The Low Pass Filter will be completely dry at one end and the High Pass Filter will be completely dry at the other end. Switch between the two, and you'll see that depending which filter and which pole your knob is at, it will either come on full wet or full dry.

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    Hope someone can help me here, i'm very new to the DB4 madness! lol
    When using the filters (bottom left and right ones) and the EQ filter, as soon as i put either one of them on, the sound drops and they seem to be instantly on. is this the norm? i got used to other mixers where you select a filter effect, put it on then use the dry/wet to increase from 0 to whatever.
    Not sure if im making sense, hopefully someone can decipher the above lol
    Macbook Pro // Traktor Pro // Xone DB4 // Xone K2 // Kontrol F1 // Maschine

  3. #1183
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Thank you for the reply iamscottish, isnt that a bit crazy to have one knob for both of them then? I guess i can use the left filter for high pass and right filter for the low pass.

  4. #1184
    Tech Guru djproben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    2,656

    Default

    Or, if you really like mixing with filters, use the filter mixing option instead of the EQ/ISO options. I've grown to love the filter mixing and rarely bother with regular EQ mixing anymore. I also don't bother much with the filters on the bottom unless I want a more dramatic effect. Filter mixing is weird at first but it's kind of addictive; it's the one reason I am still tied to this mixer.
    "Art is what you can get away with." - Marshall McLuhan

  5. #1185
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,510

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djproben View Post
    Or, if you really like mixing with filters, use the filter mixing option instead of the EQ/ISO options. I've grown to love the filter mixing and rarely bother with regular EQ mixing anymore. I also don't bother much with the filters on the bottom unless I want a more dramatic effect. Filter mixing is weird at first but it's kind of addictive; it's the one reason I am still tied to this mixer.
    Filter mixing is the exact reason I am still kicking myself in the ass for getting rid of my DB2.
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  6. #1186
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Does anyone know why the EQ (set to ISO) doesnt work on occasions while cueing a track through headphones please?
    this is driving me mad, some tracks i can kill the bass for before mixing them in, some the EQ doesnt work at all. its very strange , i can figure out why or make sense of it.

  7. #1187
    Tech Mentor ragverp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    259

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    Does anyone know why the EQ (set to ISO) doesnt work on occasions while cueing a track through headphones please?
    this is driving me mad, some tracks i can kill the bass for before mixing them in, some the EQ doesnt work at all. its very strange , i can figure out why or make sense of it.
    This is weird, should be the same for all tracks, is it random or always with the same tracks ?
    Allen & Heath DB4, Xone K2, 2x Native instrument D2
    Soundcloud
    Mixcloud

  8. #1188
    Tech Mentor ragverp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    259

    Default

    same for me, much more detail sculpting out certain frequencies...its the poor mans Model 1
    Allen & Heath DB4, Xone K2, 2x Native instrument D2
    Soundcloud
    Mixcloud

  9. #1189
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ragverp View Post
    This is weird, should be the same for all tracks, is it random or always with the same tracks ?
    Its random. I have discovered that the EQ and effects only work out on the main output and not when listening to the cue on headphones.

  10. #1190
    Tech Guru djproben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    2,656

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunder View Post
    Its random. I have discovered that the EQ and effects only work out on the main output and not when listening to the cue on headphones.
    Did you check your PFL settings in the menu?
    "Art is what you can get away with." - Marshall McLuhan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •