USB ports on side of controllers?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default USB ports on side of controllers?

    I've always wondered why controllers don't have expansion USB ports on the side. During a gig, I like to charge my phone from my USB port and I had to make my own cord.

    Just a suggestion. lol

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Providence
    Posts
    805

    Default

    It's usually a matter of power. Most companies try like hell to keep their controllers running off of USB power so they don't need the extra power supply. For the ones that do have a power supply I don't really see too many instances that it would be great for besides phone charging. It adds another item on a list to test for and I think that it's more hassle than it's worth. I could be wrong thou
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2, 2X Stanton STR8-80, 2X Denon DN-S700, Akai APC40 + APC20, DDM4000, KRKRokit 8, HD25-II, iPad (Touch OSC)

  3. #3
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    The big reason is that it would cause a lot of problems with people daisychaining lots of USB devices together and causing power problems and everything to stop working or latency issues.

    I think it would be great if devices that already needed a power supply had a spare usb port to plug another controller into but I guess there is the fear of latency or just cost.

    Allen & Heath have solved this with xlink pretty well

  4. #4
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Marburg/Germany
    Posts
    2,180

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Xonetacular View Post
    I think it would be great if devices that already needed a power supply had a spare usb port to plug another controller into but I guess there is the fear of latency or just cost.
    i've seen one controller, cant remember which one it was. some cheap shit.. it had one or two usb ports on the controller, which was powered.. latency might be an issue (probably depending on quality hub built in & laptop specs), but you could save on a usb hub..
    Setup: TP 2, VCI-400 EGE, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, iPad 2, Aiaiai Tma-1 // Launchpad, Ecler Smac32, 2 CDJ900, Presonus Firebox, KRK Rokit 8 //
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  5. #5
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,860

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by weltraumpapst View Post
    i've seen one controller, cant remember which one it was. some cheap shit.. it had one or two usb ports on the controller, which was powered.. latency might be an issue (probably depending on quality hub built in & laptop specs), but you could save on a usb hub..
    could be the icon controllers. at least one of those has a usb port to chain a 2nd controller off. i only have their idj which doesn't though. while it is cheap shit the icon idj is quite fun and the touch sensitive jogs are actually really responsive.
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard truewind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois - USA
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by weltraumpapst View Post
    i've seen one controller, cant remember which one it was. some cheap shit.. it had one or two usb ports on the controller, which was powered.. latency might be an issue (probably depending on quality hub built in & laptop specs), but you could save on a usb hub..
    I am sure it was the Stanton SCS.3 Series. The Mixer section of the controllers actually acted as a 3 usb input hub... Was quite useful actually (the usb hub part). As a controller.... meh...

  7. #7
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,860

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by truewind View Post
    I am sure it was the Stanton SCS.3 Series. The Mixer section of the controllers actually acted as a 3 usb input hub... Was quite useful actually (the usb hub part). As a controller.... meh...
    ah sure. i don't have the scs.3m but do really like the scs.3d's for controlling effects and other stuff. i wouldn't choose them instead of physical pots for mixing or jogs tho...
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  8. #8
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Marburg/Germany
    Posts
    2,180

    Default

    you're both right.. i was thinking about the icon controller, but of course the scs3 has this too..
    Setup: TP 2, VCI-400 EGE, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, iPad 2, Aiaiai Tma-1 // Launchpad, Ecler Smac32, 2 CDJ900, Presonus Firebox, KRK Rokit 8 //
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •