S4 with 4 decks and X1 with 2 sample decks - possible?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    337

    Default S4 with 4 decks and X1 with 2 sample decks - possible?

    Just wondering if this is possible, I'm about to buy the sample deck overlay for my X1 but want 4 music decks on my S4 then the sample decks on the X1.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,925

    Default

    Errmm no.

    Its 4 decks....2 track decks and 2 sample decks.

    or 3 track decks and 1 sample decks.

    or 4 track decks.

    4 track decks and 2 sample decks would be 6...innit?
    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    337

    Default

    That's disappointing... being held back by the technology now haha

    So there's basically 0 point in having an S4 AND an X1

    I am raging here, is there any alternative?
    Last edited by DJWilliams; 10-21-2011 at 11:45 AM.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru geminimech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Stafford, VA
    Posts
    645

    Default

    Nope no point in an S4 and X1. And so then if it isn't possible sir, you're looking for an alternative to what?
    Cheers!
    | 13" rMBP | KORG ZERO4 | NOVATION TWITCH | 2 X CDJ-200 | KONTROL X1 |

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Onimode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Citrus Heights, CA
    Posts
    579

    Default

    Traktor + Ableton.

    apc40 | ableton | ath-sj33
    deviantART | SoundCloud | facebook
    SKRILLEX IS THE BEST TECHNO DJ EVER!!! (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    337

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by geminimech View Post
    Nope no point in an S4 and X1. And so then if it isn't possible sir, you're looking for an alternative to what?
    I DJ using 3 decks (occasionally use 4) - and I wanted to have the opportunity to use my X1 for another 2 sample decks on top of that, so I can dj like I normally do and then have the X1 for samples but unfortunately it's not possible.
    My X1 is being wasted at the moment so I may aswell sell it.

    I was looking forward to using samples!

  7. #7
    Über Tech Guru Ed Paris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    l.e. city / germany
    Posts
    3,969

    Default

    get a second laptop plus an externa mixer that way you can use 8 decks
    I'm just a girl, standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her.
    FB/Ed Paris
    MC/Ed Paris
    FB/Wallach
    SC/Wallach

  8. #8
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by geminimech View Post
    Nope no point in an S4 and X1. And so then if it isn't possible sir, you're looking for an alternative to what?
    Actually there is.

    No need to change layers, better control over sample's filters and volume, fx units 3 and 4, etc.

    But yeah, no point for what he is trying to achieve

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    337

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by earl panda View Post
    get a second laptop plus an externa mixer that way you can use 8 decks


    Seriously though, what can I use my X1 for? I admit - having to switch between A&C and B&D is annoying on the S4 but not so annoying that I need another £150 piece of equipment.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru geminimech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Stafford, VA
    Posts
    645

    Default

    Have you considered using Live in conjunction with Traktor at all as Onimode suggested?
    Cheers!
    | 13" rMBP | KORG ZERO4 | NOVATION TWITCH | 2 X CDJ-200 | KONTROL X1 |

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •