Just offered a residency, shitting it.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Just offered a residency, shitting it.

Hey guys.

a bit of background, I'm a beginner/hobbyist DJ. I started about 18 months ago with a cracked version of virtual DJ (stereotypical, and illegal. I know, but I'm not going to lie), but I quickly outgrew that and bought a cheap controller and legit software (traktor + mixtrack pro) and messed around with traktor, got some decent mixes.

recently sold my controllers as I am unbelievably poor, but in a fortunate twist of fate, I won a TTM57SL, serato, ableton, dicers, and point blank tuition, which I am currently waiting to be delivered to me (received only the dicers and point blank course info so far). And with my bonus at the end of this month I intend to buy some TTs.

However, I've just been offered a residency in a trendy upscale bar (because a good friend of mine is assistant manager), playing light funky house, soulful house, you know, decent background stuff to get the head bobbing, no top 40 etc.

however, I've never even DJed a party before. Granted I've been playing around for fun for a year or so now, and I'm confident in my ability.

I just don't know what to do. I'll need to find out more before I accept, but it seems like too good an offer to pass up, but how do I know if I'm ready? I'm confident in my skills, but never played to a crowd before....

help ease my butterflies please!

just do it.

you learn 10x more from playing live than you ever will playing in your bedroom. while i agree people shouldnt take gigs that they arent ready for, sometimes you just gotta sink or swim to see if you have what it takes...

plus playing live is one of the most fun things in the world, especially if you can create a dancefloor outta nothing. better than drugs, almost better than sex.

btw, i hate you for winning that contest. :P
    Quote Originally Posted by Xonetacular View Post
    Ya I've heard one song. It's called Skrillex.