First piece of hardware and thoughts?
    Tech Convert

Default First piece of hardware and thoughts?

Hey everyone,

I am new to this specific forum, and am very happy to be apart of such a close group of individuals with a common passion for DJ'ing and controllerism.

I have been using Traktor Pro 2 for quite some time now. I am a freshmen and college, and have played at a handful of parties with my software alone, by using the keyboard function for Traktor. I have had a lot of positive feedback on my mixing and technique, and would like to take it to the next level with my first purchase of hardware.

My gut feeling and a bit of research has lead me to lean towards the Traktor S2, but price is sort of issue for me. If i choose to wait it out and go for the S2, it won't be until about christmas time for myself, which may not seem long, but for someone who is thriving to step it up, it feels like a long time.

I also would like to take a look at a Midi Fighter and maybe get some feedback on if this unique piece of hardware could maybe stand alone for mixing,effects, loops, etc until i get my S2, and then combine both for an even better live performance in the future.

Any advice on hardware, and my possible choices would be great.

Can't wait to get the ball rolling, and dive deeper into digital DJ'ing

Cozy

Quote Originally Posted by cozy View Post
    I also would like to take a look at a Midi Fighter and maybe get some feedback on if this unique piece of hardware could maybe stand alone for mixing
    Not really the basic model. Faders and knobs are what you'll need for mixing. A midifighter is about as much use as your computer keyboard.
    As for starter controllers - there are many threads on this board about this, so have a dig around.
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

Something to think about, money wise, is programs like zzsounds.com have.