Xp Or Vista For Stable Traktor Pro
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Default Xp Or Vista For Stable Traktor Pro

    Ok so im reinstalling windows and wiping my laptop clean for maximum performance,my laptop currently runs on vista and ive had no problems with it but ive noticed alot of people use xp and was wondering if theres any benifits,if i do use xp im gonna split the computer so im still gonna use vista for my internet browsing....any suggestions would be greatly appriciated.


    Dell xps m1330 1.5 ghz 4mb ram - Vestax vci 300 + Kork Nanopad

  2. #2
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    My new machine is Vista and it has given me no problems that weren't my fault. Just tweak it down and get rid of the secondary procedures and you should be fine
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard galaxion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Muff, Donegal, Ireland.
    Posts
    49

    Default

    +1 for vista

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    35

    Default

    xp and vista both run very comfortable and stable. though xp offers much better performance due to the fact it doesn't come with as many necessery services and processes that run in the background. anyways the stability relies mainly upon the installed drivers (that may give an bsod), the running services and the program itself!

    it's no big deal to remove unimportant services and drivers. it may easily be done through some registry scripts.

  5. #5

    Default

    I loved XP, finally moved to vista when I got my new PC. Works like a charm.
    SyblingQ - Electro House for dark alleys.

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Coaldale, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    79

    Default

    If your machine came preloaded with vista you can't always downgrade to XP. I tried to do it on my machine only to find drivers were unavailable. I'm back on Vista now with no problems.
    DVS setup: Traktor Scratch Pro, 2 X Denon DPDJ-101, Numark DXM06, Novation Dicer, Compaq Presario F750CA, Audio 8DJ
    Controller setup: Traktor Scratch Pro, 2 X Denon DN-SC2000, Denon DN120X, Compaq Presario F750CA, Audio 2DJ,

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djpbe View Post
    If your machine came preloaded with vista you can't always downgrade to XP. I tried to do it on my machine only to find drivers were unavailable. I'm back on Vista now with no problems.
    Yeah you need the SATA drivers for you computer to put on xp. It's really annoying. That's why I stuck with Vista. Lucky enough it worked good.
    SyblingQ - Electro House for dark alleys.

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    61

    Default

    It's pretty easy to add the SATA drivers to a custom XP disk, just use nlite to add them. I put XP on my M1330 because vista caused to much latency, runs like a charm, all drivers are available too. On www.notebookreview.com in the Dell XPS forum you can find a guide how to do it.
    VCI 300 - DELL XPS M1330 windows 7 - Traktor Pro - Itch

  9. #9

    Default

    Cheers for all the help guys and cheers tomato for the link think i will give it a shot,i love vista but xp looks like a good option.

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor eightyseven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    136

    Default

    OS X Leopard 10.5.6

    i rarely use the vista side on my macbook pro, so i'm afraid i can't offer much help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •