More S4 disappointment...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default More S4 disappointment...

Ok. I read a lot on the forums I don't want to start a platform war but I will address my personal disappointments. Let me start by saying that I am a PC tech person. A programmer on PC's for since early 80's. I started DJ'ing a couple years ago with PC/SL3/Mixer/CDJs but being from a computer background I really love the idea of controllers.

So earlier this year I decided to get an S4. It had already been out for some time, I heard all about the issues some people had on PC and thought I would not have an issue given my background. I was also fine with purchasing a Mac since I have wanted one of my own, my wife's primary computer has been Mac for years and she was getting tired of me borrowing hers to play with writing software for my iPod.

Upon receiving my S4 I had severe and consistent popping/audio glitches. I couldn't work them out right away so I got a Mac and everything was fine right out of the box. I didn't want to give up on the PC though given my background. New drivers eventually came out and I got my system working with no issues. Having bought the Mac though and feeling a little safer with it given it gave me no issues ever I transitioned all DJ'ing to the Mac for both SSL and S4 and today all my gigs are with my Mac. I consider my main setup to be Mac/SL3/Mixer/CDJs. and since purchasing the S4, the NS6 has also come out and I purchased one of those to try and generally use it for the smaller gigs that I don't want to setup the CDJ's. This left my S4 basically unused so I decided that I would built a little mini setup in my bedroom and leave it there with my PC laptop and just play with it.

I might add that the reason is even though I feel more comfortable playing gigs with Serato, I really love Traktor for effects and the functionality of the S4.