Recording/ripping vinyl
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor Hypernia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    120

    Default Recording/ripping vinyl

    I'm on a pretty hefty budget after purchasing my turntables and a few records so I need to make sure if I have this right before I go out and buy. I googled the easiest way to get this done, and if I have it right all I would need is an rca cable leading from my mixer (from line out) to my laptop's headphone jack and some recording software. Just thought I'd confirm whether or not this is correct.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,596

    Default

    Nope - you need to use your laptops mic in, not headphone out (the clue is in the name ...), but if you're using a DVS you're probably better recording internally or using audacity to pick up the soundcard output
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Hypernia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    120

    Default

    okay, then that's all I had wrong?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Gryz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    690

    Default

    Yes, make sure you do the Line In as he said.

    I'm not entirely sure about the Line out from the mixer...I would have done the booth out or record out...

    This would be much much easier with a soundcard with an input though.
    CDJ400s, Ecler Nuo, XD 53
    KRK RP8sFG


  5. #5
    Tech Mentor CaptainMidnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Playa Del Rey
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Id recommend you get a phono preamp and hook it up directly to your soundcard and avoid recording through the mixer (most mixers color the sound).

    found this out after recording half my record collection with a old ass pioneer mixer.
    Technics 1200 MK2s - Vestax PMC06 - NI Kontrol S2 - Traktor - Akai APC40 - Ableton Live 8

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor Hypernia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    120

    Default

    I'll keep that in mind. Gotta try it out straight through the mixer first.

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard hamza21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Inland Empire - San Bernardino,CA
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CaptainMidnight View Post
    (most mixers color the sound).
    That's not bad thing. In most cases it's a good thing unless you have a mixer that is 10 years old or older. Unless you have budget mixer like pyle,behringer or stanton mixers (the under $200 ones) one's mixer should be just fine for recording.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Alex Wild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    565

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hamza21 View Post
    That's not bad thing. In most cases it's a good thing unless you have a mixer that is 10 years old or older. Unless you have budget mixer like pyle,behringer or stanton mixers (the under $200 ones) one's mixer should be just fine for recording.
    What's with the ten year cutoff?
    Mixes: www.mixcloud.com/djalexwild/
    Production: www.soundcloud.com/alexwild
    DJM500 : X1 : MBP 15" 2.53 GHz 4 GB RAM : HD25SP : MASCHINE

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Bolton, Nr MANCHESTOH U.K
    Posts
    320

    Default

    It just sounds good.

    Edit: The statement sounds good with the superfluous wordage, not the less than 10 year old mixer BTW...
    Last edited by U-31; 12-19-2011 at 08:06 AM.

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    277

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by captainmidnight View Post
    id recommend you get a phono preamp and hook it up directly to your soundcard and avoid recording through the mixer (most mixers color the sound).
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by hamza21 View Post
    that's not bad thing. In most cases it's a good thing unless you have a mixer that is 10 years old or older. Unless you have budget mixer like pyle,behringer or stanton mixers (the under $200 ones) one's mixer should be just fine for recording.
    -1

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •