Music directly from external hard drive?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Posts
    67

    Default Music directly from external hard drive?

    Using VDJ directly from an external hard-drive, I've found to be extremelly unreliable! And either skips or crashes. But use music on the internal HD an it's fine.

    How do people find this with Traktor?
    - 2011 13" MBP | Akai LPD8 | KRK MP5's | iPhone 4 TouchOSC Custom Map -
    - Traktor Duo 2 | Traktor Kontrol X1 | NI Audio 2 -

  2. #2
    Tech Guru dripstep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    my house in the great white north.
    Posts
    1,728

    Default

    Sounds like you might have a power issue to me. I have run both vdj and traktor, and I have always mixed straight off of the external HDD. My HDD came with a USB chord that had 2 male ends, one for power, one for backup power. If I had both plugged, no issues. But if I had only 1 end plugged in, or a regular usb chord, SOMETIMES I had issues. Did your HDD have a chord like this?
    2 x gemini PT 1000 . Gemini PS-525 . X1
    NI Audio 6 . Traktor Scratch pro 2
    2007 Macbook Pro
    Quote Originally Posted by The Mighty FV View Post
    manners don't cost a thing dude - never forget that, it'll help you in all walks of life.

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Posts
    67

    Default

    No, it didn't have a separate power supply lead.

    However, I was running it to a desktop :-/ so I wouldn't have thought it mattered.
    - 2011 13" MBP | Akai LPD8 | KRK MP5's | iPhone 4 TouchOSC Custom Map -
    - Traktor Duo 2 | Traktor Kontrol X1 | NI Audio 2 -

  4. #4
    Tech Guru dripstep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    my house in the great white north.
    Posts
    1,728

    Default

    I run to a desktop too. Maybe try a new USB chord. They can only pass so much information through them before issues start popping up. Most people don't know that, I didn't until I started working where I do. The software load department switches out USB chords every other day, because they start getting errors after the second day due to the load on the chord.
    2 x gemini PT 1000 . Gemini PS-525 . X1
    NI Audio 6 . Traktor Scratch pro 2
    2007 Macbook Pro
    Quote Originally Posted by The Mighty FV View Post
    manners don't cost a thing dude - never forget that, it'll help you in all walks of life.

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Ahhhhh, i did not have a clue about that!
    I'll give that ago and see how it runs.

    The main reason I need to know is that we are DJ'ing an 18th next saturday and we are going to use my MPB instead of the Desktop that has all our music on it (12,000 songs (top40, old dads dancing albums for weddings you know the score). So we need this to be reliable.

    Cheers
    - 2011 13" MBP | Akai LPD8 | KRK MP5's | iPhone 4 TouchOSC Custom Map -
    - Traktor Duo 2 | Traktor Kontrol X1 | NI Audio 2 -

  6. #6
    Tech Guru dripstep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    my house in the great white north.
    Posts
    1,728

    Default

    Take a thumb drive if you can then. Or, put your tunes on the MBP. You won't have to worry then, and its one less thing to carry
    2 x gemini PT 1000 . Gemini PS-525 . X1
    NI Audio 6 . Traktor Scratch pro 2
    2007 Macbook Pro
    Quote Originally Posted by The Mighty FV View Post
    manners don't cost a thing dude - never forget that, it'll help you in all walks of life.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru jakeintox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    816

    Default

    I use a powered hhd and have never had issues like that. That being said, I'm much more comfortable with all the tunes I need on my laptop.

    Intoxicated /adj./ When you feel sophisticated without being able to pronounce it.

    facebook.com/DJJakeLake
    jakelake.info

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,596

    Default

    yeh. i use a powered usb external drive as well, no issues w/ traktor.

  9. #9
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    I would never DJ off a hard drive that wasn't powered.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Sorted then.

    I'll go invest in a 2Tb Western Digital powered HDD tomorrow then

    Thanks for the advice
    - 2011 13" MBP | Akai LPD8 | KRK MP5's | iPhone 4 TouchOSC Custom Map -
    - Traktor Duo 2 | Traktor Kontrol X1 | NI Audio 2 -

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •