Removing pitch detent on technics
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor funke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nashville Illinois
    Posts
    498

    Default Removing pitch detent on technics

    Watched a few videos on removing the pitch detent on some 1200s and was wondering what the general consensus was on this. Does it make beatmatching any easier/accurate?
    Toshiba Satellite Windows 8.1, TSP2, Audio 10, Audio 2, 2x Technics 1200 MKII, Pioneer DJM-707, Midi Fighter Spectra, Kontrol X1, Behringer CMD PL-1

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Onimode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Citrus Heights, CA
    Posts
    579

    Default

    I'd assume doing so would make beatmatching more accurate, since the entire range of the fader would have the same resistance. Easier, I wouldn't be so sure about. Beatmatching is a skill that needs to be developed.

    I'm in need of some TTs. :l
    apc40 | ableton | ath-sj33
    deviantART | SoundCloud | facebook
    SKRILLEX IS THE BEST TECHNO DJ EVER!!! (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Nicadraus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Tatooine
    Posts
    415

    Default

    Yes. Dipless pitch is so much better especially during precision beat matching.

    The procedure will require de-soldering and soldering. You will have to remove the bearing and spring. Also while the pitch control assembly is disassembled, clean the pitch carbon board and the brushes that makes contact with the carbon. Then better to apply contact grease on the board before putting it back together again. The contact grease should be applied at very small amount only and spread it evenly on the carbon board. Lastly, when the assembly has been put back together, you may want to check the calibration first before sealing the cabinet intact.
    Last edited by Nicadraus; 11-13-2011 at 11:01 AM.
    Works1200 - Technics SL-1200/1210 specialist
    Dell Inspiron 14R N5437 i5 4200u, 16gb RAM/750gb 7200rpm/Win8.1
    TSP 2.6.8 + Audio 4 DJ + Kontrol X1 + Novation Dicer
    Technics SL-1200 MK3D x 3 + Ecler Nuo 4 + Pioneer DJM-250 + V-Moda M100 + Sennheiser HD280 Pro
    Alesis RA-300 + KRK ST8 + Jamo Sub200 + MGM Studio HT-3D 8" powered sub

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    Indeed you clean the carbon surface, but... If there's one place you don't want grease and lube, it's really on the carbon... it will collect dust for nothing. Clean the carbon with DeoXit D5, wipe with a clean cloth, let it dry for few minutes, reassemble the whole thing, enjoy.

    I prefer to not have the center click... all personal preference.
    Steve Zorilow: Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Twitter

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor funke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nashville Illinois
    Posts
    498

    Default

    Thanks for the info. The reason I ask, I was practicing my beatmatching by playing the record player to an mp3(same track) and I noticed that the record player played just ever so slightly slower than the mp3 when set to the quartz lock. If I tried moving the fader, it was too fast and basically unmatchable. I have heard that the work around is to speed up both tracks to avoid that detent. I watched a video on adjusting the speed screw in the fader, but could I expect to get the speed perfect?

    I wouldn't mind lubing up every part while I'm in there. Is there any specific brand of grease that you could recommend and where should I look to find the stuff? Radio shack? Should I use that grease for everything or do I need other stuff too?

    Does anyone PREFER to have the pitch detent?
    Toshiba Satellite Windows 8.1, TSP2, Audio 10, Audio 2, 2x Technics 1200 MKII, Pioneer DJM-707, Midi Fighter Spectra, Kontrol X1, Behringer CMD PL-1

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor funke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nashville Illinois
    Posts
    498

    Default

    Just saw your post keywee. Thanks for the tip. What all really needs to be lubed up in there? The play button, tone arm, spindle? What doesn't need lubed?
    Toshiba Satellite Windows 8.1, TSP2, Audio 10, Audio 2, 2x Technics 1200 MKII, Pioneer DJM-707, Midi Fighter Spectra, Kontrol X1, Behringer CMD PL-1

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    Not a load of things to be lubed in there... I suggest you to grab the service manual, everything is explained inside.
    Steve Zorilow: Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Twitter

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    the real answer to this is no. there is separate speed adjustments for both +&- on a mk2, if you want to add accuracy, you could reduce the range.


    if your bent on doing it, id buy a mk3 pitch slider, it fits perfectly and is dipless as standard, but ul find its just the same
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor funke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nashville Illinois
    Posts
    498

    Default

    I read the owners manual, service manual, and service suplement, and all that it says is to add a few drops of their oil to the spindle bearing every 2000 hours of use.

    Surely there's more to it than that to maintaining these. What about cleaning? Should I spray some electrical cleaner in the brake and pitch pots?
    Toshiba Satellite Windows 8.1, TSP2, Audio 10, Audio 2, 2x Technics 1200 MKII, Pioneer DJM-707, Midi Fighter Spectra, Kontrol X1, Behringer CMD PL-1

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    no, you don't need unless you need to readjust them each 30 minutes or they're impossible to adjust. Even if they're impossible to adjust, those 2 are usually pretty sealed anyways.

    Just keep everything free of dust, clean it often with air spray & vacuum. Nothing else to lube. If/When the tonearm act weird, it's high likely you'll have to change it if all regular adjustment fail.
    Steve Zorilow: Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Twitter

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •