setting up my CDJ 850's
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor lucasmanning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    223

    Default setting up my CDJ 850's

    Hey lads,

    Got a set of cdj 850's the other day and have been loving them. Been mixing off cds and usb memory sticks.

    However I have been having problems getting them hooked up with traktor. I have tried setting them up with timecode, and with HID/MIDI. Timecode's lag was almost unbearable, and HID/MIDI wouldn't work.

    I'm struggling to find any good help on the web getting these bad boys setup with traktor . It seems all the good tutorials on the web are all about the 900's and the 2000's .

    I tried to use pioneer's 850 mapping and assigned the midi channels to 1 and 2 , but wasn't getting any sort of reaction in traktor. I'm not sure what else to do , I'm feeling a bit lost as cdj's are very new to me.

    I'm really keen to get these set up along with my djm 400 with traktor asap, so any help would be appreciated!
    CDJ 2000s + DJM 2000

    Check out my Mixes : Soundcloud

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Gryz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    690

    Default

    How did you try setting them up in hid? Do you have your ports set correctly?
    CDJ400s, Ecler Nuo, XD 53
    KRK RP8sFG


  3. #3
    Tech Mentor lucasmanning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    223

    Default

    I'm not sure how do set the ports correctly ?
    CDJ 2000s + DJM 2000

    Check out my Mixes : Soundcloud

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor lucasmanning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    223

    Default

    bump
    CDJ 2000s + DJM 2000

    Check out my Mixes : Soundcloud

  5. #5
    Tech Guru geminimech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Stafford, VA
    Posts
    645

    Default

    Check pioneers forums. I believe they have a write up and they have written a specific app on how to aggregate the sound cards correctly (assuming a MacBook of course).

    Forums.pioneerdj.com
    Cheers!
    | 13" rMBP | KORG ZERO4 | NOVATION TWITCH | 2 X CDJ-200 | KONTROL X1 |

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor lucasmanning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    223

    Default

    got the cdjs working great now with traktor pro 2 on my macbook pro , now how can i go about getting my djm 400 to work with them ?
    CDJ 2000s + DJM 2000

    Check out my Mixes : Soundcloud

  7. #7
    Tech Guru geminimech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Stafford, VA
    Posts
    645

    Default

    Oy. Run the RCA cables into your mixer. The 400 will allow only you to mix externally, so feed one into channel one and the other into channel two.
    Cheers!
    | 13" rMBP | KORG ZERO4 | NOVATION TWITCH | 2 X CDJ-200 | KONTROL X1 |

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor lucasmanning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    223

    Default

    I've spent a good while trying to get this to work, and i can't

    I've got it set up just like how you say and still not getting anything out of the mixer.

    Do i have to change anything on the mixer , or do i have to change any preferences inside traktor ? i've tried setting it on external mixing and still had nothing.
    CDJ 2000s + DJM 2000

    Check out my Mixes : Soundcloud

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Bassline Brine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    Maybe switch the line/phono (aka transform) switch on your mixer? It might be set to phono (turntables) by default, and I believe you want it on "line".
    BREAKBEATS AND OTHER MUSICAL ADVENTURES
    Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Mixlr - Twitter

  10. #10
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    Go into your output routing in traktor...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •