How many of you guys have a full time job?
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default How many of you guys have a full time job?

Hey Guys, I was just wondering how many of you's have full time jobs, and how do you maintain time for both your full time job, and Djing? Just curious, because I finally got called back into work. I am an apprentice electrician, but unfortunately way up here in the north, winter time hits hard, and pretty much kills construction, so I get laid off on winters. I start Monday, and a normal week is 50+ hours. This will be the first year, Djing, and not to sure how it is going to work out. Weekends and maybe an hour or two each day if I am lucky.

Just curious.

So post up!

I am a product marketing manager for a software company, contributor to this little oasis as well as digitaldjtips.com as well as having a three year old. There simply isn't enough time in the day and right now I am spending more time writing about DJ technology that playing.

As for how to balance everything, I don't know that there are any tricks that work for everyone. I try and put aside some time for myself towards the beginning of the day before things start getting backed up. The best piece of advice I can give is this, if you find yourself with an hour to spare - use it!
    Beats By Dre is like audio flu for your balls.

Also see this thread http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12740

As I dj more as a hobby and time to do so can be scarce sometimes, I usually find an hour or two after everyone else in the house has gone to bed. Sucks to do most of my playing through headphones though. I relish the times when I have hours to spend learning and practicing.
    FYI I own and operate a paintball field, run another part time small business, & have a wife and 16yo.