Warm-up gig, please help!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    135

    Default Warm-up gig, please help!

    So tomorrow im doing a warmup-gig for a bigger DJ and i was wondering, my set is 2 hours! i use timecode cds, cdj2000, djm 800, audio 6 and a X1.

    When we switch, whats the easiest way to do it?
    Cheers
    - MPB 15" & 13" - S4 - X1 - HDJ 500 & 1000. -

  2. #2
    Tech Guru papo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    Posts
    555

    Default

    It depends...

    Will he be using your mixer? or will he be using the house/his own mixer?

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    135

    Default

    He will use their CDJ's and their mixer!
    - MPB 15" & 13" - S4 - X1 - HDJ 500 & 1000. -

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Frank112916's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    395

    Default Warm-up gig, please help!

    Don't bring your equipment. Only bring the audio 6, timecode CDs, and your x1.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor Frank112916's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    395

    Default Warm-up gig, please help!

    And just switch by swapping cables If he is using SSL or Traktor on one cdj and then after he does his mixout he can swap on the cdj you are using to play your last song. If he is just using The CDjs straight, then just set up one cdj regularly on your last song and do the same for the other after he mixes out. It's not rocket science...

    And if you absolutely have to use your own setup (because you're pissy or something) then swapping is even easier... He'll just mix in to your last song, and you fade out when he tells you to.

    If the booth is large enough for two setups, I'll assume the sound techs have dealt with swapping djs before...

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    135

    Default

    I think you got it wrong..
    What I'm bringing to the club is my audio 6, laptop, x1 and timecode CD's.
    Then i plug 2 rca cables to the INPUT of the soundcard, take the RCA's that are plugged in to the CDJ's and plug them in to OUTPUT on the soundcard, then i take the INPUT Rca's from my soundcard and plug them in to the CDJ.

    My question is, he is using the CDJ's the normal way, with usb-sticks, whats the easiest way for us to switch?
    Maybe like this:

    I play a longer track on deck B, then i unplug the CDJ and plug the cable that is goin from the mixer back in, let him put in his USB stick, take out my Timecode CD, and then the same thing on the other CDJ?

    Hope it makes sense, damn i wouldnt survive without this forum!
    - MPB 15" & 13" - S4 - X1 - HDJ 500 & 1000. -

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    135

    Default

    From what i understood i can use the CDJ2000's as a HID controller for traktor, so all i will need then is 2USB Cables and my laptop and im good to go?
    - MPB 15" & 13" - S4 - X1 - HDJ 500 & 1000. -

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Conall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    607

    Default

    The HID support for 2000's is a bit sketchy i think, i would stick to your standard setup if i were you.

  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    12

    Default

    i think that traktor has the option to pass through the sound card an play with normal cd's without unplug the rca's from the card...

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor Frank112916's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    395

    Default Warm-up gig, please help!

    Yeah actually, if you have the optional power adapter you can directly pass through audio.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •