Traktor help needed!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Traktor help needed!

    Hi there,
    i'm new in this forum and i'm not sure if this topic goes here, if not please let me know =)

    i was wandering if there is anyway to assign a key from my keyboard or midi controller to show and hide the stable bpm from my decks.
    I'm running traktor scratch pro 2 and i would like to use this feature when i'm practicing at home, so that i can press any key to show me the stable bpm from my decks if i need to or hide it with the same key or another if i dont need it know at which bpm i'm playing.
    I would also like to know if i can assign another key to show and hide the phase meter for the same reason.

    Thank you !

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor Nicadraus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Tatooine
    Posts
    415

    Default

    I don't think it's possible to hide or show the BPM by pressing a button or assigned key anytime. You will either have to enable or disable the BPM, time, title, artist, etc manually at the preferences and I believe that it's the only way to do it.
    Last edited by Nicadraus; 12-02-2011 at 09:23 AM.
    Works1200 - Technics SL-1200/1210 specialist
    Dell Inspiron 14R N5437 i5 4200u, 16gb RAM/750gb 7200rpm/Win8.1
    TSP 2.6.8 + Audio 4 DJ + Kontrol X1 + Novation Dicer
    Technics SL-1200 MK3D x 3 + Ecler Nuo 4 + Pioneer DJM-250 + V-Moda M100 + Sennheiser HD280 Pro
    Alesis RA-300 + KRK ST8 + Jamo Sub200 + MGM Studio HT-3D 8" powered sub

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hey, thank you so much for your reply !

    best,
    J

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    464

    Default

    I think you can create multiple layouts with the settings you want/don't want and switch between the layouts via a key press or midi command.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    206

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JDJD View Post
    Hi there,
    i'm new in this forum and i'm not sure if this topic goes here, if not please let me know =)

    i was wandering if there is anyway to assign a key from my keyboard or midi controller to show and hide the stable bpm from my decks.
    I'm running traktor scratch pro 2 and i would like to use this feature when i'm practicing at home, so that i can press any key to show me the stable bpm from my decks if i need to or hide it with the same key or another if i dont need it know at which bpm i'm playing.
    I would also like to know if i can assign another key to show and hide the phase meter for the same reason.

    Thank you !
    Why are u trying to do this anyways?

    Just keep your BPM on the entire time there is no real reason why you need to hide the bpm. IMO The more useful information you can have showing at all times the less chance of screwing up during your set
    Kontrol S4-Novation Launch Pad-MF Pro BM-Traktor Pro 2-KRKRP8/KRK10-Windows 7 64 Bit-Toshiba A660

    I dont care if you use 2 ipads...2 cassette tapes...or a washboard and a wooden spoon...if you rock it, you rock it.

  6. #6
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hippie View Post
    I think you can create multiple layouts with the settings you want/don't want and switch between the layouts via a key press or midi command.
    This. You have several options here. You can set up a layout that has the decks at whatever size you want in deck layout. Then in the decks pane you can select what's visible or not. You then map a button that's direct to that layout.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I have just received an email reply from the Native Instruments guys and unfortunately the stable BPM cannot be assigned to a key or a midi button.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hippie View Post
    I think you can create multiple layouts with the settings you want/don't want and switch between the layouts via a key press or midi command.
    With layouts you can just solve the phase meter thing, but not the stable BPM. The Phase Meter setting can be stored in a Layout definition (Only in Traktor pro 2) but The info shown in the deck headers is system wide, is not stored in a layout, and cannot be changed with a mapping


    Quote Originally Posted by Gapout View Post
    Why are u trying to do this anyways?

    Just keep your BPM on the entire time there is no real reason why you need to hide the bpm. IMO The more useful information you can have showing at all times the less chance of screwing up during your set
    The reason is explained in my first post, is to practice at home mainly without looking at the BPM. Actually when i play i mix between timecode and real vinils wich doesnt show any BPM information.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    206

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JDJD View Post
    The reason is explained in my first post, is to practice at home mainly without looking at the BPM. Actually when i play i mix between timecode and real vinils wich doesnt show any BPM information.
    Why are you mixing timecode with real vinyls? Why arnt you ripping all your real vinyls into wav/mp3 format. The whole reason why we use traktor/Serato is so we dont have to lug around actual cds/vinyls.

    As well from what i know it is not illegal to download music in mp3 format for music you already have an original for cd/vinyl/tape.

    Practicing at home imo you should practice the exact way you are going to be doing shows with. This streamlines your mixing and so you will not have to adjust any aspect of your performace from bedroom to the event.


    Just my 2 Cents
    Kontrol S4-Novation Launch Pad-MF Pro BM-Traktor Pro 2-KRKRP8/KRK10-Windows 7 64 Bit-Toshiba A660

    I dont care if you use 2 ipads...2 cassette tapes...or a washboard and a wooden spoon...if you rock it, you rock it.

  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gapout View Post
    Why are you mixing timecode with real vinyls? Why arnt you ripping all your real vinyls into wav/mp3 format. The whole reason why we use traktor/Serato is so we dont have to lug around actual cds/vinyls.

    As well from what i know it is not illegal to download music in mp3 format for music you already have an original for cd/vinyl/tape.

    Practicing at home imo you should practice the exact way you are going to be doing shows with. This streamlines your mixing and so you will not have to adjust any aspect of your performace from bedroom to the event.


    Just my 2 Cents
    Some things that need be considered..
    the first one is that i usually play b2b with a friend that does only vinyl, the second is that i found myself a funniest way to play by mixing using timecoded vinyls, real vinyls and cds. And Also when i play, i play some records that i had made, so when i drop some of my own tracks, i prefer to do that on real vinyl just because these are 'my own' vinyls.

    Cheers!


    PS: keep it a 'little bit' real

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor Lineypirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Essex/Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    189

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JDJD View Post
    i prefer to do that on real vinyl just because these are 'my own' vinyls.
    My thoughts exactly! I'm always mixing between timecode and "real" vinyl. I see Traktor as a tool to play everything I have on MP3 as vinyl, not the other way round!
    TSP 2.6.1 | 2 x CDJ 2000 Nexus | 2 x Technics 1210 MK5 | Denon DNX-1600 | Behringer DDM4000 w/Infinium X1 | MBP | A&H Xone K2 | Akai APC 40 & MPK 25 | Novation Launchpad | Pioneer HDJ 2000 & 500 | Audio 8 DJ | Ableton Live 9

    http://www.mixcloud.com/lineypirate/http://www.soundcloud.com/lineypirate/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •