Not enough USB Ports!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard Neil Oughton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    25

    Default Not enough USB Ports!

    Hey gang!

    So having recently sold my Traktor S4 and Maschine I have now purchased and Allen and Heath DB4 and 2 X1 Controllers.

    The issue is I am one USB port short on my Macbook Pro.

    My question is, do we recommend a powered USB hub over bus powered? Will the 2 X1's function off a non mains powered hub?

    I am struggling to find a stylish hub to connect the kit together!

  2. #2
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/sho...irmed+multi+TT

    I use the Belkin F4U017 7 Port USB 2.0 Hub with power adapter and have had nearly every port filled with no problems.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard Neil Oughton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Ah thanks for the quick response. It looks like that model is US only. But I will take a look at similar.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    105

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/sho...irmed+multi+TT

    I use the Belkin F4U017 7 Port USB 2.0 Hub with power adapter and have had nearly every port filled with no problems.
    will the self-powered usb hubs still have the same power as the ones with the power adapter? less wires is what im looking for

  5. #5
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,742

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 123xyz View Post
    will the self-powered usb hubs still have the same power as the ones with the power adapter? less wires is what im looking for
    No, but they're cheap, so go ahead and try it and see what happens.

    I use an un-powered 4-port hub and have no problems running a Maschine, 2 X1s, and either a VCM-600 or an LPD8 together. Audio interface plugs into the other USB port.

    I also have powered hubs, but I lost the one I got for DJing because it just wasn't necessary with my stuff for some reason.

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard Neil Oughton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    25

    Default

    I've ordered this, it was the closest one to the model recommended!

    http://www.belkin.com/uk/IWCatProduc...duct_Id=389047

  7. #7

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor ToS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    EXIT fest.town, Serbia
    Posts
    358

    Default

    Im gonna show off a bit, sorry.
    I use HP DV6 with old-school docking station ( ES632AA ) for a total of 10 USB ports, no extra wires needed.

    Now, only to buy enough controllers to fill them all out.
    Many photons have died to bring you this information.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Nicky H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Leeds UK
    Posts
    2,480

    Default

    Should be ok if its just controllers but I wouldn't risk a gig if you run a soundcard thru an unpowered hub
    SC | MC

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    242

    Default

    Having read the forum post about multi-TT hubs a while back, I managed to track down one of those Belkin F4U017s.

    It was so good I bought another one within the week for back-up.

    The best powered hub I've used. Not expensive either. Worth hunting for, they do come up from Amazon sellers occasionally in the UK.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •