Not achieving great sound isolation with Sony MDR7506's
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Decatur
    Posts
    83

    Default Not achieving great sound isolation with Sony MDR7506's

    Hey,
    So I use sony MDR7506's for djing, and I realized that they don't seem to isolate sound as well as they are advertised or in reviews I've read about them. I am wondering if maybe they don't fit over my ears correctly or something? I started being concerned when I have used them in the past for traveling, that they don't seem to isolate sound so well on aircraft.
    I dj under the Threetall Alias, and blog.
    Check out my stuff:
    http://soundcloud.com/threetall,
    http://threetall.tumblr.com/

  2. #2
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,748

    Default

    isolation is a weird thing to discuss. if you go by what you read, nothing isolates as well as people say.

    the real question is just "can i mix with them when a sound system is cranking out party volumes and i have monitors that are probably too loud blasting at my head?" when i had 7506s, the answer was absolutely yes. but, i was usually wearing earplugs under them.

    if you actually want to block out the main system, IEMs with custom molds are your best bet, but they still don't block out everything. i've had conversations with people while i was wearing earplugs more agressive than anything you'd wear in a club....they were just really quiet.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor ToS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    EXIT fest.town, Serbia
    Posts
    358

    Default

    Aircraft freqs are not the same like club songs. Also, you get the same sound constantly during your flight so your brain has it easier to filter that specific and let you ignore it or pay attention to it.

    Have you noticed that they isolate bad in the actual club? Have a test, bring them to a rave with you.
    Many photons have died to bring you this information.

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Decatur
    Posts
    83

    Default

    See my problem is that when I mix wearing earplugs underneath I find it way to hard to tell, and I have to have the headphone level cranked to the max. Even then it doesn't always feel loud enough.
    I dj under the Threetall Alias, and blog.
    Check out my stuff:
    http://soundcloud.com/threetall,
    http://threetall.tumblr.com/

  5. #5
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    You might try the velour covers on them, supposed to help (and feel really nice).

    On aircraft I never found they'd isolate brilliantly anyhow, as its more of a "sound you feel".

    Are you using a mixer or controller HP output ?

    Do they sound less isolated when you have them pushed tight to your ears ?

    your headband might have widened a bit, it did on my V6's and just needed to twist that mof*ucker back a bit to grip my head a bit better.

    [ame="http://www.amazon.com/Beyerdynamic-Velour-Earcushions-MDR7506-Headphones/dp/B0016MF7W2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1323466165&sr=8-1"]Amazon.com: Beyerdynamic EDT 200 Velour Padded Earcushions for DT250, DT280, Sony MDR7506 and V6 Headphones (Pair): Electronics@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41RZA8qiprL.@@AMEPARAM@@41RZA8qiprL[/ame]
    Last edited by deevey; 12-09-2011 at 04:38 PM.

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Decatur
    Posts
    83

    Default

    I'm using a audio 2 dj, no mixer.
    They sound I think maybe more isolated when I push them tight to my ears.
    I dj under the Threetall Alias, and blog.
    Check out my stuff:
    http://soundcloud.com/threetall,
    http://threetall.tumblr.com/

  7. #7
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sirtofu View Post
    See my problem is that when I mix wearing earplugs underneath I find it way to hard to tell, and I have to have the headphone level cranked to the max. Even then it doesn't always feel loud enough.
    What kind of earplugs?

    Are you trying to mix entirely in the headphones, 'cuz if you are, IEMs would be better all around.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    I'm using a audio 2 dj, no mixer.
    I take it you've tried with a DJ mixer or other source just to check its not the sound card or USB not giving you enough welly ?

    They sound I think maybe more isolated when I push them tight to my ears.
    Really sounds like the headband might have just stretched a bit mate and not clamping tight enough, mine did till I twisted the metal a lil to clamp better, In fairness mine have taken some serious abuse over the past 12+ years.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru farhanashraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    1,781

    Default

    no problems here
    Quote Originally Posted by theory28 View Post
    iatf = in after the farhanashraf
    Quote Originally Posted by theory28 View Post
    its ibtf! iatf is too easy to get!
    who we r
    what we have done

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Decatur
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mostapha View Post
    What kind of earplugs?

    Are you trying to mix entirely in the headphones, 'cuz if you are, IEMs would be better all around.

    The Hearos musicians earplugs.
    Yeah IEMS would be better all around but I don't have that kind of money to drop. I need to just work with what I am using atm.

    But if I mix with headphones, I could just take my earplugs off when I mix, and make sure the volume levels are safe or is that too risky?

    And no I have not really checked them with a dj mixer. But usually what happens Is I have the headphone cue vol on the vci 100 all the way up, as well as the monitor channel on the sound card.
    Last edited by sirtofu; 12-10-2011 at 03:36 PM.
    I dj under the Threetall Alias, and blog.
    Check out my stuff:
    http://soundcloud.com/threetall,
    http://threetall.tumblr.com/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •