Good External Soundcard?
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    108

    Default Good External Soundcard?

    So i just bought two KRK rokit 6's and have two XLR cables
    now i need a good sound card and was wondering what would be good for these?

    I mean obviously it has to have two XLR outputs i believe and whatever else

    thanks guys!

  2. #2
    Tech Guru farhanashraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    1,783

    Default

    whats ur budget
    Quote Originally Posted by theory28 View Post
    iatf = in after the farhanashraf
    Quote Originally Posted by theory28 View Post
    its ibtf! iatf is too easy to get!
    who we r
    what we have done

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Cook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,622

    Default

    1/4in to xlr cables,
    NI Audio 2
    DJM800 | 2xCDJ2000 | RMX1000 | Adidas HD25's
    2011 MBP | Traktor 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Scratch Live | SL2
    Mac Pro | Ableton | Access Virus C | Maschine
    Facebook || Soundcloud || Twitter

  4. #4
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Marburg/Germany
    Posts
    2,180

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoodless View Post
    1/4in to xlr cables,
    NI Audio 2
    ^^this
    Setup: TP 2, VCI-400 EGE, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, iPad 2, Aiaiai Tma-1 // Launchpad, Ecler Smac32, 2 CDJ900, Presonus Firebox, KRK Rokit 8 //
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by weltraumpapst View Post
    ^^this
    http://www.native-instruments.com/#/...o-2/?page=1919

    is that what you guys are talking about?
    because it doesnt seem to have two xlr inputs available? or whatever

    sorry im new to this, im just trying to learn

  6. #6
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Marburg/Germany
    Posts
    2,180

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rawrjaay View Post
    http://www.native-instruments.com/#/...o-2/?page=1919

    is that what you guys are talking about?
    because it doesnt seem to have two xlr inputs available? or whatever

    sorry im new to this, im just trying to learn
    yes..

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoodless View Post
    1/4in to xlr cables,
    NI Audio 2
    i dont know of any external soundcard with xlr outs.. just buy xlr - 1/4 jack adapters..
    Setup: TP 2, VCI-400 EGE, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, iPad 2, Aiaiai Tma-1 // Launchpad, Ecler Smac32, 2 CDJ900, Presonus Firebox, KRK Rokit 8 //
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor ToS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    EXIT fest.town, Serbia
    Posts
    358

    Default

    You probably need a soundcard, just a regular decent-quality soundcard.
    There is no soundcard on the market with XLR output but there are with BALANCED outputs on TRS jacks. ie. all Presonus soundcards.
    Now, if you want to keep your monitors further away than 2 lengths of your desk and you have some heavy machinery on the path of the cables you might find balanced connection useful.
    There were rumours about A2DJ auto-converting it's output to balanced but I haven't been able to confirm that with my tests. And I am in possesion of A2DJ and Presonus Firebox.

    Part my tone, I'm from southern Europe.
    Many photons have died to bring you this information.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    108

    Default

    ok cool, so i guess i dont no whether to get the A2DJ or the NI Audio 2?
    im not sure.

    but the NI Audio 2 doesnt seem to have any inputs or outputs besides those little 3.5mm jack things? LOL idk
    i dont see any RCA or anything on there

  9. #9

    Default

    @rawrjaay:
    The A2DJ is short for Audio 2 DJ. It's got two 1/4inch outputs, which you then adapt (using the included cables) into rca's. It's also the card Skrillex uses. But it doesn't have any mic inputs, so keep that in mind....

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bmwnutfrombirth View Post
    It's also the card Skrillex uses.
    _-*~_~*Well I'm sold!*~_~*-_

    Not to diminish the A2DJ, its great.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •