Traktor Pro Beatgrids v Ableton Warping..My beatgrids keep shifting!! need help..

Default Traktor Pro Beatgrids v Ableton Warping..My beatgrids keep shifting!! need help..

Hey folks,

I've been using ableton for a couple years but have recently decided to explore Traktor Pro in parallel...all goin ok with the exploration except for some reason I cannot get my head around setting up and saving beatgrids properly! lack of info on NI site appalling i have to say also :-(...
    Anywiz, my problem is that although I'm fine with the beatgrid concept/theory/setting the first grid/setting correct/original bpm etc - for some reason most of my tracks seem to "drift" away from the grid mid way through the track (all techno tunes downloaded from Beatport btw - so shouldnt be any drift in the wavs/mp3s..)...when I go through the track like Ean shows in his tutorial and move the grids left or right to fix the "drift" all looks good on the screen but then I return to the beginning and then thats all wrong and the beatgrids have drifted !! Iaghhh its driving me nuts :-) in ableton once you drop the warpmarker everything "to the left" obviously stays locked behind it...can you do this in Traktor? i.e lock a beatgrid - then drop a second and lock that??? If not advice badly needed on how to tighten the grids....any help much appreciated...

Cheers,

ROC.

Well see, one of the major edges that Ableton has over Traktor is that in Traktor, one can usually only effectively beatgrid (the way you would in ableton) a track with a steady tempo. That means it is beating exactly on beat for the entire song.

Usually that drift means that song is at an unsteady tempo. Either that or your first beatgrid marker isn't EXACTLY on beat and should be shifted a bit. If the song has a steady tempo and your first marker is right, there shouldn't be any drift.

Now, there are a few ways to handle an unsteady tempo: