Midi Fighter Mod/Too Much USB Power

Default Midi Fighter Mod/Too Much USB Power

Hey!

I'm working on expanding the classic Midi Fighter, but I'm a beginner at electrical connections and soldering, so I'm having an issue now that everything's all wired up. I have everything connected well and secure, but when I plug it in, it says "Too Much Power Being Drawn by USB Device...this port will be shut down". I understand that something is misfiring but I'm not sure what.

Here's what I have going on and here's what I tested:

I added 4 arcade buttons and 3 rotary knobs (360 rotating kind, the middle one will also push down as a button function). The Midi Fighter itself works fine if I don't have the 5V power lead to the expansion connected internally, but with that connected it's drawing too much power and I get that error. I didn't think that it would require additional power or a powered USB port since midi controllers with a lot more on them don't need that, nor does the Midi Fighter Pro, to my knowledge. So I figured I have something connected wrong.

Any suggestions of what else to troubleshoot? Do I need to reset the unit after I make a mod like that? I made sure the connections were done well and secure, and there's no bleed of solder, at least that I can see. So maybe a connection is wrong.

Any help is appreciated!

...just found this:
    http://www.djtechtools.com/2010/02/0...sis/#more-4747

Gonna dig in and see what I can come up with.

Default Connections