NEWBIE -Need Recommendations for Controllers
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Student

Default NEWBIE -Need Recommendations for Controllers

I'm new to djing and new to these boards. I need recommendations from the expereienced dj's on these boards. I'm looking to purchase a controller and there seems to be tons of options in a wide price range. I'm looking to blend mostly hip hop, R&B, maybe some jazz. I'm also looking to do some scratching. Not a huge amount of scratching but some. Finally, I'd like to record some of my mixes. It's possible that I may expand on some of those things but that is where I'd like to start.

I've been looking at the Numark Mixtrack Pro. Here's my concern. I've dabbled a bit in djing back in the early 90s so I know I'll stick with it. I don't want to purchase a setup that I will outgro quickly and have to sell and upgrade within a year or so. I'd rather start with a controller that may be a bit more than a beginner needs yet, not a complicated/expensive system that a professional dj would use on a regular basis. At the very least, I'll be a "bedroom" dj; at most, I'd 'dj' small gatherings like a house party, family bbq.

So, here are my questions:
    1. Is the Numark MixTrack Pro a good option for what I want to do?
    2. Is there a better option?
    3. What additional items (mixers, headphones, etc...) would I need to do the things that I've mentioned? Recommendations?
    4. Will my Toshiba Satellite C655 (Windows 7) or HP Pavilion Dv9000 (Windows Vista) laptops perform well with a controller?

BTW, this is a great and informative forum. I've read lots of threads here with information but I wanted to address my specific situation. Thanks for any information/recommendations.

The S2 is a great A/B mixing controller and it ships with a copy of Traktor 2.
    Technics 1200 MK2s - Vestax PMC06 - NI Kontrol S2 - Traktor - Akai APC40 - Ableton Live 8

Tech Student