DJM-800 or CDJ 1000s???
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1

    Default DJM-800 or CDJ 1000s???

    Soon, i'll be getting some money, and i've been wondering, i currently have cdjs 800s mk2, but i want to upgrade to the 1000s, because i hate it not being accurate enough. On the other hand, i have a really crappy mixer, and i'm wondering with the money i'll be receiving, should i upgrade my mixer, or cdjs?
    This is the mixer i have

    It's my dads old mixer.
    Last edited by thunderdino97; 12-22-2011 at 10:46 PM.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor Nick Bike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    124

    Default

    assuming your mixer is really shit, i personally would upgrade that before your CDJs since they are still pretty adequate.
    2013 Vancouver Red Bull Thre3style champ

    FACEBOOK | TWITTER | SOUNDCLOUD | INSTAGRAM

  3. #3
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    The CDJ-1000s are excellent players if you only mix with CDs and I really miss mine. I've never owned any other CDJs since they all feel sub par compared to them and I can't afford the 2000s and don't want to burn CDs and use 1000s.

    It really depends on what mixer you have now and how satisfied you are with it. Personally I'm not a fan of the pioneer mixers but I understand why people want and buy them. Still the CDJs you have are decent and it might make sense to get a new mixer.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Ryan Leo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    477

    Default

    What do you mean by accurate?

    I find the pitch fader could get a little bit more smooth but maybe you should try lubing the fader before getting new cd players.

    There isnt wrong with the accuracy of my cdj 80mkII.

    I would upgrade to a new mixer before the cdj-800. cause in reality, those things are pretty sweet. The looping can be a bit shaky, but if you worked on keep as little distance from the buttons you'd probably get it to sound tighter.

    What mixer you using now?
    DJM900||CDJ800MKII(2)||PDX 2000(2)||Yamaha HS50M(2)||Yorkville YSS2||Macbook||Traktor 2


    http://soundcloud.com/ryanleomusic/

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan Leo View Post
    What do you mean by accurate?

    I find the pitch fader could get a little bit more smooth but maybe you should try lubing the fader before getting new cd players.

    There isnt wrong with the accuracy of my cdj 80mkII.

    I would upgrade to a new mixer before the cdj-800. cause in reality, those things are pretty sweet. The looping can be a bit shaky, but if you worked on keep as little distance from the buttons you'd probably get it to sound tighter.

    What mixer you using now?
    I mean, lets say if i'm doing a really long mix, it goes off beat. The mixer I have is, Optimus SSM 1750, it's from 1995 or around that time.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor Nick Bike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thunderdino97 View Post
    I mean, lets say if i'm doing a really long mix, it goes off beat.
    it's going to go off-beat on 99% of any CDJ, turntable or midi controller. unless the tracks you are mixing are perfectly quantized and you have the pitches locked exactly at the right adjustment % then they will always drift at some point.
    2013 Vancouver Red Bull Thre3style champ

    FACEBOOK | TWITTER | SOUNDCLOUD | INSTAGRAM

  7. #7
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    Saw the edit, I would definitely get a new mixer first. I'm not sure what that is but it doesn't look like I would enjoy using it.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru guiltyblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,282

    Default

    mixer. A better mixer makes a world of difference.

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor Nicadraus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Tatooine
    Posts
    415

    Default

    New mixer first. As long as your CDJ-800MK2 are are working fine, then there is no reason to upgrade to CDJ-1000s yet.
    Works1200 - Technics SL-1200/1210 specialist
    Dell Inspiron 14R N5437 i5 4200u, 16gb RAM/750gb 7200rpm/Win8.1
    TSP 2.6.8 + Audio 4 DJ + Kontrol X1 + Novation Dicer
    Technics SL-1200 MK3D x 3 + Ecler Nuo 4 + Pioneer DJM-250 + V-Moda M100 + Sennheiser HD280 Pro
    Alesis RA-300 + KRK ST8 + Jamo Sub200 + MGM Studio HT-3D 8" powered sub

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor Ryan Leo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    477

    Default

    When the tracks drift you just use the jog wheel to bring it back in, thats the whole idea of having the jog wheel. To be able to adjust the tracks when they begin to drift.

    As previously stated, everything drifts unless its quantized and locked.


    That's the fun part of mixing is playing around with the jog wheels.


    Get a mixer

    your cdjs are fine.

    Once you get it down, you wont even need to think about the adjustments.
    DJM900||CDJ800MKII(2)||PDX 2000(2)||Yamaha HS50M(2)||Yorkville YSS2||Macbook||Traktor 2


    http://soundcloud.com/ryanleomusic/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •