VCI100 MkII?
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: VCI100 MkII?

  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default VCI100 MkII?

    Hey guys,

    Been considering buying a controller for a few months now - I've been putting on a radio show for a while and have been trying to learn to mix properly. Played around with software (VDJ and Traktor), and while I always have a blast doing it, I hate mixing with a mouse/etc. I feel like it's time to try out some hardware.

    I've just come accross the opportunity to buy a VCI100 MKII for around 400$. My initial plan was to get a VCI100 with an external sound card, but I'm thinking this could work for the price..

    I'm wondering if anyone has used the MkII? Thoughts? Whats the sound card like?

    Oh, and I'm using a macbook if that changes anything.


    Any other ideas/suggestions/questions appreciated!

  2. #2
    Tech Guru GI Trackt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    519

    Default

    Hey man I think the general consensus you're going to get here is that the 100mkII wasn't as solid/reliable as its predecessor. If you're set on the VCI-100, you should maybe consider the mkI or a used VCI-100se from this website. Tons of people sell their VCI-100 here in the buy/sell section.

    If you're already willing to shell out $400, you might want to also think about the VCI-300mkII. It's very cheap right now and is one of the most solid controllers on the market. You would have to switch to Itch though!

    Gluck man!

  3. #3
    Tech Guru DjLiquitATL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Chatt-town, TN
    Posts
    913

    Default

    get the S2 not much difference in price, you can get from zzounds.com of americanmusical.com and make 3 even payments if you don't have all of the amount
    Last edited by DjLiquitATL; 01-02-2012 at 08:49 PM. Reason: adding
    --> (2) Technics 1200 mk2, (1) Technics 1200 m3d, (1) Technics 1200 mk5, Pioneer DJM-S9, Rokit 5 Monitors, BX8 Monitor, TSP2, SDJ, DJP4M (DjProForMac), 2015 Macbook Pro (Quad Core i7 2.5ghz, 16GB RAM, 2GB AMD-R9, 1GB SSD) <--

  4. #4
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Any particular reasons why I should get an S2 over, say, a vci100se?

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Chicagolandarea
    Posts
    186

    Default

    I had this exact question... Kontrol S2 vs Vestax VCI-100SE (ean golden edition)... ????

    Seems that for purely integrating seemlessly with TP2 the S2 has the edge, althogh I am sure DJTT version took all that into consideration with the mappings. S2 comes with full version of TP2, not sure about Vestax. Also, is there an soundcard on the Vestax? (I don't recall) I like the build quality of the Vestax a touch more. S2 has the booth outs. Both similar in price.
    Xone DX, SE-DJ5000, Itch
    http://soundcloud.com/eizhauz

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Montreal , Quebec , Canada
    Posts
    65

    Default

    I would seriously recommend the vci 100 SE (with or without arcade buttons)
    The built quality is 10x better , more customizable and really precise with fw 1.4 .
    I had a kontrol s4 and kept having problems with it . Fader A went out for no reason , one of the cue points didn't work all the time and i take extreme care of my gear . The Vci 100 SE or Arcade doesn't have an integrated sound card , which in my book is better since you can choose the quality you want .

    I tried pretty much every single piece of gear on the market , and the vci 100 (MK1 not to get confused with the second one) is one of the most durable piece of kit i ever owned .

    There is a lot of good mappings for it . You wont regret it

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Chicagolandarea
    Posts
    186

    Default

    Thanks for the reply moss2626... I appreciate your honest opinion. I am sure some S2 owners will rebut this but it is good to here from someone who was a owner of both.

    Costs involved... S2 has it all (TP2,soundcard) while VCI-100SE does not... so what else goes into the cost of purchasing this one-of-a-kind controller? How much extra (TP2 full version)? What soundcard is recommended (price)?

    If I am being honest, I want to buy, plug and play. Being my first experience of a controller, I want immediate results prior to going into the depths of mappings and reconfiguring. I personally don't want to purchase something, then be spending the next week scouring forums for tips on why this isn't working or that. Lazy bastard, I am. Wife says same thing.
    Xone DX, SE-DJ5000, Itch
    http://soundcloud.com/eizhauz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •