computer speakers to mixers?
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    350

    Default computer speakers to mixers?

    i have the pioneer djm-350 and i want to hook my computer speakers to my mixers. any ideas?

    my computer speaker has a AUX hole and i remember when i plug my ipod to the AUX hole then it would sound loud just running of an ipod!!! now my mixer has a red and white RCA AUX, it doesnt specify out or in so im getting its out? and wondering if i do AUX RCA from mixer into comp speaker AUX 3mm jack size hole or w/e. any ideas?

    or maybe master out-rca to speaker aux hole or something.

    cant afford speakers right now


    currently im mixing with my headphones, left channel on left speaker, right ch on right side of headphone. just started, definitely will take time for me to get use to this lol but i want to use the comp speakers


    ty

  2. #2
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    or maybe master out-rca to speaker aux hole or something.
    you want to do this, or just the normal speaker input to master out

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Bassline Brine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    I use computer speakers hooked up to my mixer for my sound, and it works fine. I don't like using that setup for production work (as the sound isn't super precise) but for just mixing, it's perfect. Actually, I've had a lot of people when they come over be surprised that I'm using the same setup that I've had for years.

    All you basically need is an RCA to headphone jack cable. Plug the RCA into the output on your mixer, and then the jack into the aux in (or into the sub depending on what you have for computer speakers) and then it's done.

    I think people put too much emphasis on big sound at home sometimes. Computer speakers are really quite simple, cheap, and effective. I'd love to have some amazing stuff. But until that point, I'm really quite happy using the logitech 5.1 surround system I bought in 2004 lol.
    BREAKBEATS AND OTHER MUSICAL ADVENTURES
    Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Mixlr - Twitter

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    350

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Xonetacular View Post
    you want to do this, or just the normal speaker input to master out
    aux out(mixer) to aux in(comp speakers)

  5. #5
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cutflow View Post
    aux out(mixer) to aux in(comp speakers)
    there probably isn't an output labeled aux.

    the outputs would be record, booth, and master. you want master out of the mixer to any input on the speakers.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    350

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Xonetacular View Post
    there probably isn't an output labeled aux.

    the outputs would be record, booth, and master. you want master out of the mixer to any input on the speakers.
    what is this AUX on the djm350 for?

    ========
    edit, the aux on the 350 is to bring in audio. so master out to 3.5mm (aux hole on comp speaker) should work?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •