Technics 1200 Mk 2, motor off button ?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Guru MyUsername's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,139

    Default Technics 1200 Mk 2, motor off button ?

    So I met this guy who can give a GREAT deal on 2 Technics 1200 Mk 2, he hasn't used them the last 2 years, doesn't have space for em and he had them upgraded and they replaced all the cables and stuff. He is sort off a friend so the price will be low as hell.

    But I was wondering do these technics have a motor off button because that is a feature I love to use on my current TTs ??

    If not do other technics models have one ?

    If not can they be modded to have this feature ?

  2. #2
    Schreiberie Meister Afterhour Ali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tekki's crotch
    Posts
    1,568

    Default

    Motor-off button? There's start and stop which should do the trick.
    DJDiscourse.com the new DJ community

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    551

    Default

    You can take it apart and adjust the brake speed if that's what you're after. I'm not sure it will would work as well but if the price is right do it. Also, simply turning the deck off while it is playing and using your finger on the side of the platter is a fun way to manually control brake speed.

  4. #4
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    Just turn the power off.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor Nicadraus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Tatooine
    Posts
    415

    Default

    To turn the motor off, then press the START/STOP button. To make the platter spin again, press the START/STOP button. To turn on/off the unit, switch the knob.

    Simple as that.
    Works1200 - Technics SL-1200/1210 specialist
    Dell Inspiron 14R N5437 i5 4200u, 16gb RAM/750gb 7200rpm/Win8.1
    TSP 2.6.8 + Audio 4 DJ + Kontrol X1 + Novation Dicer
    Technics SL-1200 MK3D x 3 + Ecler Nuo 4 + Pioneer DJM-250 + V-Moda M100 + Sennheiser HD280 Pro
    Alesis RA-300 + KRK ST8 + Jamo Sub200 + MGM Studio HT-3D 8" powered sub

  6. #6
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    Well the start/stop button also brakes.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru MyUsername's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,139

    Default

    It seems like none of you ever had a TT with a motor on/off button. It sounds really cool and is not comparable with a start/stop button for your platter.

    And I thought that when I turn my unit off that the needle won't pick up a signal and the TT won't send that signal to my mixer.

    But applying pressure on the side of the platter sounds like it could work, but I 's gonna be hard to make the platter slow down at same rate continiously.

    But still it's a damn shame that this is not possible. It sounds very cool and it's so handy.

  8. #8
    Schreiberie Meister Afterhour Ali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tekki's crotch
    Posts
    1,568

    Default

    if you turn it off the platter slows down at the same rate continously.
    I still don't get the difference.
    DJDiscourse.com the new DJ community

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MyUsername View Post
    It seems like none of you ever had a TT with a motor on/off button. It sounds really cool and is not comparable with a start/stop button for your platter.

    And I thought that when I turn my unit off that the needle won't pick up a signal and the TT won't send that signal to my mixer.

    But applying pressure on the side of the platter sounds like it could work, but I 's gonna be hard to make the platter slow down at same rate continiously.

    But still it's a damn shame that this is not possible. It sounds very cool and it's so handy.
    Xone said it.... You're talking about turning the power off. That whole effect came from people actually doing it as a transition. You turn the power off, the record keeps moving and you slow it with your hand... so the answer to your question is yes.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru MyUsername's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,139

    Default

    Ok, I tested it (I was at work before, but I still go to school btwjust throwing that out there) and turning the power off at the back gets the job done, it takes some getting used to if you 'd normally press a dedicated button but hey there are a lot more worse things in the world then this slight inconvinience.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •