DJ Payment Etiquette For New City????
    Tech Guru

Default DJ Payment Etiquette For New City????

Hey guys I just wanted to get your input on something that I can't figure out at the moment. I've recently relocated to a new city and have my first gig here coming up very soon. The thing is that the minor detail of PAYMENT has been ignored by the promoter and I caught wind that he doesn't plan on paying me as I will be one of the "opening" acts.
    Now my problem is I'm not sure if I should demand being payed and risk a very good opportunity for exposure, or just go with the flow. On the one hand I've been playing out professionaly(gettin payed) for the last 2 years in another city, but on the other hand this will be my first show in this new city/scene and I'm not sure if it's worth burning bridges over what would be a farely small paycheque anyway....

what would you guys do?

If it was a first show then id do it for free just to show that you can mix and how well you do it, you dont want to run the risk of losing the gig because your asking for cash - then put your hand out for money for any future gigs. Be front up with the guy, tell him that your doing it this time for free but if he wants to use you in the future you need to be reimbursed.

Good luck

Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar

First, for the future, you should ALWAYS secure that information before any agreement is made. Never assume, ever.

Don't demand it. I'd say play the gig. If he doesn't pay you sit down with him after and explain your situation. If he says he won't pay you then I'd say something to the effect of "With all due respect, that is not acceptable to me. Have a good day" and never spin for him again unless payment is assured. If you sell yourself short you'll have to fight to get paid again.

If the exposure is worth it, though, then I'd run with it for a few gigs, get contact numbers for bigger gigs that give you money.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

My Mixes, Mashups and Rants