Questions about USB functionality on CDJ 2000's
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39
  1. #1

    Default Questions about USB functionality on CDJ 2000's

    Hey guys,

    I'm a Traktor user but can't be bothered to setup my gear for a 1 hour slot this coming Friday. I'm just going to be bringing USB keys instead. I've never used USB keys on CDJ 2000's before so I'm just wondering if there's anything I need to keep in mind when transitioning from the prior DJ. Is it as simple as just inserting my USB key and pressing "USB" on the CDJ and that's that? I may also use the link, can I just press link while on of my tracks is already playing and on which cdj must I press the link button? Anything else????

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor The Pancaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    357

    Default

    Dunno about how it particulary works... but I suggest running all your tracks through rekordbox if you want quant capability.
    HP Envy 14 Beats Edition, Traktor Pro 2, NI Kontrol S4, NI Kontrol X1, NI Kontrol F1, AIAIA TMA-1

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    693

    Default

    If u hope to make use of quantize features, ull need ur tracks to be analyzed by rekordbox before u show up. Since rekordbox is free, id highly suggest doing this.

    Either way, whether u do or do not analyze them - its as simple as u state. Plug it into cdj, press usb button and browse to ur track. Just bear in mind that
    Quantize wont work without rekordbox analyze.

    One piece of advice.. Dont put too many tracks on the usb. I find its not the easiest thing to browse a huge library on usb using cdj screen/knob so ull be better off having a manageable amount of tracks so u can find stuff easily. Id suggestusing rekordbox and building a playlist of 100 tracks and exporting those to e usb drive u take wit u.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Pancaker View Post
    Dunno about how it particulary works... but I suggest running all your tracks through rekordbox if you want quant capability.
    i don't need quant capability. it's a short set.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kevz718 View Post
    If u hope to make use of quantize features, ull need ur tracks to be analyzed by rekordbox before u show up. Since rekordbox is free, id highly suggest doing this.

    Either way, whether u do or do not analyze them - its as simple as u state. Plug it into cdj, press usb button and browse to ur track. Just bear in mind that
    Quantize wont work without rekordbox analyze.

    One piece of advice.. Dont put too many tracks on the usb. I find its not the easiest thing to browse a huge library on usb using cdj screen/knob so ull be better off having a manageable amount of tracks so u can find stuff easily. Id suggestusing rekordbox and building a playlist of 100 tracks and exporting those to e usb drive u take wit u.
    ok perfect. thank you. do i need to press link on the cdj that has the usb, or the one that doesn't have the usb? and is it an issue pressing link while a track is already playing?

    also, how can i even use quant capabilities on cdj 2000's if i use recordbox? how does that even work?


    edit: upon further review, quant may be a good idea. how do i get quant to work on the cdj? what button must i push to engage the quant feature?

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    693

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by princesultan View Post
    i don't need quant capability. it's a short set.
    What do u hope to get out of the link feature? I find anything link related works best with rekordbox analyzed tracks including bpm detect

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    693

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by princesultan View Post
    ok perfect. thank you. do i need to press link on the cdj that has the usb, or the one that doesn't have the usb? and is it an issue pressing link while a track is already playing?

    also, how can i even use quant capabilities on cdj 2000's if i use recordbox? how does that even work?
    Ya, u can press link while a track is playing.. Ull find a few benefits from rekordbox analyze-
    1. Quantized looping (so ur loops will always be in time)
    2. Quantized effects (beat dependent effects stay in time)
    3. Bpm detection (ull get a stable bpm readout for a track)
    4. Better mp3 management (u can find tracks a little easier since theres more info)

    Those are the big benefits imo.

    Theres not much to using it.. It just works if it sees reordbox info.. Just press the link button on the cdjs and other pio gear (if im remembering right, theres a link button on djm mixer too). Then just play as usual and things will sound a bit tighter. U can turn it on/off freely if u want but ull probly just want to leave it on. Its not quite as intrusive as traktors quant feature.

  8. #8

    Default

    ok thanks. well i want to use the link so that i only need to bring 1 usb key and just link the tracks over to the other cdj.

    how to i ensure quantize is enabled? i saw that i can do it through the utility menu by turning quantize on, but do i need to enable anything through the info menu as well? i read somewhere that i need to ensure quant is enabled in both utility and info menus.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    693

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by princesultan View Post
    ok thanks. well i want to use the link so that i only need to bring 1 usb key and just link the tracks over to the other cdj.

    how to i ensure quantize is enabled? i saw that i can do it through the utility menu by turning quantize on, but do i need to enable anything through the info menu as well? i read somewhere that i need to ensure quant is enabled in both utility and info menus.
    I dont believe there are any menu options n the cdj or mixer but i could b wrong.. Check out a few youtube tutorials - theyll walk u thru the process and ull feel more comfortable doing it if uv seen it in motion.

  10. #10
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    Also I would bring two USB sticks just in case they don't have them linked via ethernet which I have seen. That and or an ethernet cable.
    Last edited by Xonetacular; 01-11-2012 at 03:01 PM.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •