Xone:1d question
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    129

    Default Xone:1d question

    Hi,

    I bought xone:1D some time ago to use in addition to SSL and it works like a charm. But now I'm thinking of putting it to use with traktor pro as well. The problem is that there are 2 MIDI maps on it, where one is used for traktor only and other is used for Ableton and general use (serato included).

    Now my question is , do I have to switch MIDI map modes each time I wanna switch between traktor and serato or is there some workaround ?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor racoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    202

    Default

    i've another question, sry i hijack your thread but you can sure give me an answer as an xone 1d user

    how good is the jog working for pitch-bend, beatmatching and "manual" djing in general. useful?

    back on topic: i think since "the midi mapping" means the setting on which midi channel and so on a software should listen for control orders, i think that you can import the one mapping into your traktor and traktor listens to midichannel X and Y for traktor controls and import an other mapping into your ableton and it will listen to midichannel A and B for ableton controls.

    so i think it should be possible without the need of map changes
    ( www.sickinc.org ~ a psychedelic trance ritual )

  3. #3
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    the reason there are the two settings for the 1D is that the top 4 encoders change their signal under the two modes...

    for the ableton mode they send a CC encoder value. However with traktor turning left sends a note every click, and right sends a different note every click, you should be able to use the traktor setting for ableton if you can map increasing or decreasing values for sliders but not sure if you can or not, although there is a program called something ike "max for live" that opens up more mapping possibilities I think.

    The jog wheel is terrible, it is only useful for the 4 buttons underneith it, But I like the OP used it with dvs.
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by racoon View Post
    i've another question, sry i hijack your thread but you can sure give me an answer as an xone 1d user

    how good is the jog working for pitch-bend, beatmatching and "manual" djing in general. useful?

    back on topic: i think since "the midi mapping" means the setting on which midi channel and so on a software should listen for control orders, i think that you can import the one mapping into your traktor and traktor listens to midichannel X and Y for traktor controls and import an other mapping into your ableton and it will listen to midichannel A and B for ableton controls.

    so i think it should be possible without the need of map changes
    well good question, I only use it for browsing library,but I suppose it can be good for pitchbend as well, not quite sure really.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by synthet1c View Post
    the reason there are the two settings for the 1D is that the top 4 encoders change their signal under the two modes...

    for the ableton mode they send a CC encoder value. However with traktor turning left sends a note every click, and right sends a different note every click, you should be able to use the traktor setting for ableton if you can map increasing or decreasing values for sliders but not sure if you can or not, although there is a program called something ike "max for live" that opens up more mapping possibilities I think.

    The jog wheel is terrible, it is only useful for the 4 buttons underneith it, But I like the OP used it with dvs.
    Basically I wanna use 1d for traktor and serato and unfortunately in serato,midi mode for traktor won't work afaik (top row encoders, yes). So I was wondering if there is a way for midi mode 2 (general MIDI use) to work with traktor regularly ?

  6. #6
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    unfortunately I don't know anything about traktors mapping accept for what I have read as I don't use the software. hopefully someone else can answer that for you.
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  7. #7

    Default

    I had a 1d and 2d for a wile and has no problem using them with tractor and generL mode. What exactly is the problem? Also the jogs work fine for pitch bending I mean sure they arn't touch sensitive, but thats no reason to say they are terrible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •