AutoGain: Better in Traktor Pro 1 Than Traktor Pro 2?
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor kelsey7k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    dallas.tx.usa
    Posts
    216

    Default AutoGain: Better in Traktor Pro 1 Than Traktor Pro 2?

    In Traktor Pro 1, the auto gain seemed really accurate to me. Since I've upgraded to 2, it seems like it's a lot more hit or miss.

    It is on, and it makes an attempt at every track I load. But I still get a lot of extra loud/quiet tracks.

    Anybody else notice this?
    !
    Vista | Traktor Pro 2 | VCI-400 EGE | VCI-100 Arcade | MF Pro Beat Masher | MidiFighter Classic (pics)
    Soundcloud

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    277

    Default

    as far as i can subjectively tell, the algorithm is unchanged. however, there seems to be a bug where traktor fails to write/store the autogain. as a consequence, the autogain remains--incorrectly!--at 0.0db.

    i recommend you make the "analyzed" column visible in the browser. see if you have a number of files with an autogain of 0.0db. (as traktor computes the autogain in 0.1db increments, if autogain works correctly, you should have only very few tracks with 0.0db autogain). if you have a bunch of files with an autogain value of 0.0db, you are probably affected by the bug and should re-analyze those files.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor ToS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    EXIT fest.town, Serbia
    Posts
    358

    Default

    Actually the scenario is like this (and it is retarded bug at least):
    - you load the fresh track
    - tractor scans it
    - you do something like beatgrid/cuepoints set
    - then (IMPORTANT) you change the data in track listing
    - traktor looses cuepoints and <strike>everyting</strike> bpm info.

    Pretty sad for software labeled "Pro" in it's second iteration.
    Last edited by ToS; 01-17-2012 at 06:10 AM.
    Many photons have died to bring you this information.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    277

    Default

    ^^^ i cannot reproduce that.

    tos, no offense, but you display a tendency to make unsubstantiated claims.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor ToS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    EXIT fest.town, Serbia
    Posts
    358

    Default

    rgtb, I'm very glad for you because this "accidental feature" is more than annoying. I'm quite positive that there is a bug reported as I did found people discussing it on the forums.
    About your second remark, I'm not going to comment but I stand corrected that TPRO2 won't loose gain data but will loose cuepoints/bpm/bpmlock.

    If you have any info about the problem, I'd like to hear and discuss it.
    If you need more precise outline for bug reproduction, I can send it to you but only if there is a chance of you fixing it. ;-)
    Many photons have died to bring you this information.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    325

    Default

    @ ToS: i'm experiencing the same problem. if i set beatgrid/cue points first, then edit the track's tags all changes done in step one are lost.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    277

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TCMuc View Post
    @ ToS: i'm experiencing the same problem. if i set beatgrid/cue points first, then edit the track's tags all changes done in step one are lost.
    hi tos!

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor ToS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    EXIT fest.town, Serbia
    Posts
    358

    Default

    See rtgb, this is what I was talking about. Seems like gain values persist but are not refreshed if I open detail-track-info after the traktor-scan.
    Many photons have died to bring you this information.

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    325

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rgtb View Post
    hi tos!
    Naheliegend, aber falscher Verdacht...

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor ToS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    EXIT fest.town, Serbia
    Posts
    358

    Default

    No comment really. Thanks TCMuc, nice works on Soundcloud btw.
    Many photons have died to bring you this information.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •