ADVICE - good deal on maschine but one knob is messed up
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    693

    Default ADVICE - good deal on maschine but one knob is messed up

    Hi,

    I can pick up a maschine that is practically new except for the fact that one of the 8 top knobs is kinda messed up. It basically will jump around in midi values kinda randomly. Itll being going smooth 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and then jump to 120 (as an example). It only happens sometimes too.

    Otherwise, the thing works perfect..

    I can pick it up for $50.

    Anybody think that:
    a) the knob might be fixable? Its not under warranty so id be on my own i think.
    b) that i can get by without this knob? Im not familiar with maschine software yet - its the 5th knob in the top 8 knob section.

    Im thinking I cant go wrong for $50 even if the knob is unuseable..

    I probably only have a day or two to decide.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    50$ can't go wrong... every rotary encoder are replaceable. You just need to find the right guy to do it. Not a part NI will provide though.
    Steve Zorilow: Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Twitter

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    714

    Default

    Get it, you can even use it as a midi controller and then just not assign that knob....thats a hell of a good midi controller for 50 bucks

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    693

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rukks View Post
    Get it, you can even use it as a midi controller and then just not assign that knob....thats a hell of a good midi controller for 50 bucks
    this is what i had in mind.. i dont use maschine but maybe one day i will.. for now, ill just use as a midi controller for other stuff.

    i think im gonna grab it - if anybody has any tricks for correcting knobs or knows somebody in nyc area that could fix something like that, let me know.

    thnx all

  5. #5
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    Hurry up and buy it you crazy fool, what are you waiting for?

    You can definitely get by without the knob.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    693

    Default

    thnx for confirming - i figured maschine software would work without one little knob but thought id make sure since ive never so much as touched the software.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor DJ Abide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    430

    Default

    I'd get it for the pads alone! Get it and ship it to me. $100 no ?'s asked

  8. #8
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,668

    Default

    New encoder = $5

    Getting a Maschine for $50







    Priceless

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    693

    Default

    Got it..

    The guy got a maschine and found the broken knob so contacted ni who sent him new one but never collected the old one.

    It still has the plastic on the screen lol.

    How do i replace encoder for 5 bucks?

  10. #10
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    693

    Default

    After a little googling, it seems a few others have had this same knob issue where it bleeds out midi notes incorrectly. No good fix that I can see.

    Anybody know the issue Im referring to? I can post vid if it helps. Any advice would be appreciated on how to correct it. I suppose I wouldnt mind taking the maschine apart since i only paid 50 bucks.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •