Ten Minute Dance Mix - Lots of Criticism Needed
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Question Ten Minute Dance Mix - Lots of Criticism Needed

Hey everyone, I'm really new to mixing and I'm trying to get better so I threw together this mix in 10 minutes with a few songs just so I could get some constructive criticism about whether I had a good choice of songs,and ways that I could make the mix more smooth because I know there's a lot more I could be doing.

Here is my mix:

The tracklist is:
    -Turbulence - Lil John, Steve Aoki, Laidback Luke
    -Don't Wanna Go Home - Jason Derulo
    -Dancing in the Backseat - 3lau
    -My Feelings for You - Avicii & Sebastien Drums

Some of the things I've noticed already and I could improve on are:
    1. When I transitioned into "Don't Wanna Go Home" I didn't transition into a part that had much of a bassline so it quieted down quite a bit.
    2. The transition from "Don't Wanna Go Home" to "Dancing in the Backseat" happened a little later than I wanted it to so the vocals started to mix.

What else could I do better? Thanks for any advice.

I will give this a listen sometime this evening.

Tech Wizard

Thank you! I look forward to your criticism.

I am not a professional DJ. I have only done about 12 public DJ performances. I am a good listener and analyzer of things , and have been producing electronic music since 1999.

In my opinion, the first transition should've had the beat going on song 2 instead of going into a beat-less part. It didn't sound terrible though.

Also your crossfades are way too fast. That is my opinion again. Different people have different ideas on this. I like to enjoy both songs playing together for awhile. I mainly DJ deep house or electro house. I like a minimum of 30 seconds where you can here both songs. Usually I lean more towards 45 seconds.

Again, going into that last song the transition was way too quick.