So does anyone spin just vinyl anymore?
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default So does anyone spin just vinyl anymore?

Does anyone on here spin purely on vinyl anymore?

This is my question.

I know there is one night locally where the resident DJ's always spin DnB on vinyl. They never use CDJ's or DVS, and they keep up with the times and also throwback some serious chibs. But that's pretty much it. (Elements @ The Phoenix Landing in Cambridge, MA. Excellent, excellent weekly if anyone is ever in the area).

I've even heard Andy C has moved to Traktor? I've seen him a few times and I've only seen him spin straight vinyl, so I don't know if it's true or not.

I know it may sound odd, but there's something I just love about spinning on vinyl. I'm not good at beat-matching it yet honestly, but I'm working on it. As I recently came into a huge amount of early 2000's DnB vinyl, it's been almost nostalgic to listen to. (That's about the same time I really started getting into EDM... DnB specifically). And there's just something wonderful about not having a computer hooked up.

As I "mostly" listen to Dubstep, and I don't have much of a vinyl collection, it's a tough call for me. I've been debating selling serato and putting that money toward getting a solid bunch of records... But as I've never really been a vinyl junky, and it's a pain in the ass to get, is it even worth it at this point? I have Serato and it's nice being able to mix my Mp3's. But I almost feel the need to go "backwards" and start being the guy who spins vinyl. Because no one does that shit anymore, and I really enjoy seeing a DJ spinning on straight vinyl, and almost feel it could be a competitive edge in this market which is loads of people trying to get in on DJing.