Just getting started need mentor/suggestions

Default Just getting started need mentor/suggestions

I'm just getting started and building my equipment set up and I need some help/suggestions, I have a Numark Mixtrack (NOT PRO), Virtual DJ LE and had been using an old Pioneer Amp an old Tower Speaker (found in my grandfathers garage) as well as my sub-woofer from my DVD Surround Sound my Mom helped me figure out how to wire my headset/speakers so I could queue songs up without a sound card just to get by until I could earn enough to buy a sound card and speakers (I'm only 13). I know this is totally MacGyvered but it was just letting me learn my software/midi controller until I was able to get real equipment
    My small school had a dance and I offered to DJ it but one of the student coordinators (chick who hates me) said they didn't need a DJ and would just use a laptop and a playlist website. The day before they asked if they could use my amp and speakers. HE, he he, they found that they didn't have the bandwidth to stream music. So I helped set them up a connection to the school network but didn't have my laptop with my music on it so hooked them up with an alternative and even managed to show them how to queue up songs with youtube, it was tragic but I did manage to save the dance, I'm such a hero. Some friend of chick that hates me was playing around with the volume and there were several loud pops my amp shut off and when I tried to turn it back on it said AMP OVERLOAD, they switch my stuff out for a PA Speaker for the rest of the night. It was cool until I got home to reconnect my stuff and found out the pops were both my speakers being blown and my amp is now fried. Sorry had to vent.