First set of CDJs
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default First set of CDJs

Hello folks, this is my first post so go easy on me.

I have been DJing for the past 3 years or so, using midi controllers and traktor. I have started landing some half decent gigs and have realised that using midi controllers in a club is a pain in the arse with finding space for my equipment and having to lug it around.

I want get some cdjs so I can just turn up with my cds and play on the house equipment. I would prefer to spend as little as possible (£800 max for a pair), so would probably be buying second hand. What cdjs should I be looking out for and things to watch out for when buying second hand??

Cheers for any advice

If you plan on going straight CD without the need for using the computer, CDJ-800's would be my first look. Otherwise if you'd be okay with a smaller platter, CDJ-400's have the HID capabilities that would allow you to use them with Traktor fairly seamlessly.

And before someone pipes in with Denon being cheaper than Pioneer. Pioneer IS what's in the clubs. So for me, that's the big deciding factor right there between the two.

Other CDJ's are more expensive. Just looking at prices here in the USA, I imagine those two CDJ types would still fit within your budget.

I don't own them, so I can't give you any pointers on what to look out for.
    BREAKBEATS AND OTHER MUSICAL ADVENTURES
    Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Mixlr - Twitter

Tech Wizard

You're probably best going for some CDJ-800's, I had a look on ebay and you'll be able to pick up a pair within your price range. I haven't personally played on a pair but I know friends who own them and haven't had a bad thing to say about them

Tech Convert

Someone near me is selling two Pioneer CDJ 1000 mk2s for £400 a pop. I gather these are pretty old, so is there little point in buying these?

Tech Wizard

Quote Originally Posted by dao View Post