Best scratch mixer for a beginner?
    Tech Mentor

Default Best scratch mixer for a beginner?

Something a little different for DJTT - I'm looking for a scratch mixer for my turntables. I really just want to learn how to scratch.

I don't know anything about external mixers, nor which are preferred for scratching really and which are the best values.

I'm just starting out so I don't want to spend TOO much but at the same time I'd like something that would last.

Recommend anything as long as it's a good *value*. 2 channel is nice but I'd probably want a four channel mixer overall in the end, so feel free to recommend either.

Budget? That's the importantfactor here. If you want a scratch mixer that lasts, you'll need to spend around £250. But you can get a cheap 2-channel mixer (<£100) and modify the crossfader for scratching...

Scratch standard mixers are:

Vestax PMC05
    Technics SHex 1200

the korg km-202 is a great starter scratch mixer, its only 250usd and it has a alpha cross fader decent, but you can upgrade it, later on.

only thing is the channel fader is not good for scratching tho. but you can on the xfader she cuts like a dream.
    www.myspace.com/djxsquizet
    my arsenal:
    2x vestax pdx, numark dxm09, m-audio x session pro, and ableton live 6.

I spin hip hop/electro/top 40

my 10minmix video
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oqAgSmaG4zM

Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Budget? That's the importantfactor here. If you want a scratch mixer that lasts, you'll need to spend around £250. But you can get a cheap 2-channel mixer (<£100) and modify the crossfader for scratching...

Scratch standard mixers are:

Vestax PMC05
    Technics SHex 1200