Where to place cue points?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1

    Default Where to place cue points?

    Where do you guys normally set up your cue points? Does it differ from song to song or is there a pattern you guys follow?

  2. #2
    Moderator keithace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,062

    Default

    DJ-ing 101...

    you tell me your thoughts...where do you think they should go?

    drums? vocals? bassline? breakdown?

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor NathanWard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    291

    Default

    I do "1" at my mix in point, which is the start of the track normally or soon after it. "2" is at the start of the first buildup. "3" is 4 beats before the chorus/drop. "4" is the actual chorus or drop. "5" is the start of the breakdown. "6" is 4 beats before the 2nd drop. "7" is the 2nd drop. Finally "8" is at my mix out point, or the start of the outro.

    This changes sometimes, when I have specific parts I want cue'd, or if it's used in a routine.

    I like mine arranged like this because I can easily jump around a track, and they serve as great visual indicators if I ever get lost in the track.
    BCF 2000
    Traktor Pro 2
    Kontrol X1


  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Lilac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    436

    Default

    I tend to arrange mine at the start of phrases which differ from the previous one. Maybe it's a breakdown or a chorus. It differs from song to song though. Put the cue points where you feel you need them.

  5. #5
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    I mark vocals with the fade in and fade out markers and I set up intro and outro loops and that's about all I use my cues for.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NathanWard View Post
    I do "1" at my mix in point, which is the start of the track normally or soon after it. "2" is at the start of the first buildup. "3" is 4 beats before the chorus/drop. "4" is the actual chorus or drop. "5" is the start of the breakdown. "6" is 4 beats before the 2nd drop. "7" is the 2nd drop. Finally "8" is at my mix out point, or the start of the outro.

    This changes sometimes, when I have specific parts I want cue'd, or if it's used in a routine.

    I like mine arranged like this because I can easily jump around a track, and they serve as great visual indicators if I ever get lost in the track.
    Way more extensive than i am. Stealing your way for sure

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NathanWard View Post
    I do "1" at my mix in point, which is the start of the track normally or soon after it. "2" is at the start of the first buildup. "3" is 4 beats before the chorus/drop. "4" is the actual chorus or drop. "5" is the start of the breakdown. "6" is 4 beats before the 2nd drop. "7" is the 2nd drop. Finally "8" is at my mix out point, or the start of the outro.

    This changes sometimes, when I have specific parts I want cue'd, or if it's used in a routine.

    I like mine arranged like this because I can easily jump around a track, and they serve as great visual indicators if I ever get lost in the track.
    Great post. I recently started doing this. At first it was only 'mix in' and 'mix out' cues, but as I've gotten better, more creative and purchased an X1, I've started cueing throughout the whole track.

    Just curious. Do you cue up 4 beats before the drops for looping purposes?

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Do you cue up 4 beats before the drops for looping purposes?
    Yeah, I do. I'm no expert at this stuff though, but it seems to work for me.

    Another thing I will often do is loop the outro and use that to mix in a track rather than using it's intro, since often I find outros can be more sparse than intros and thus can mix in more seamlessly. It's then easy to switch back to another cue point in the intro or go straight to the first drop itself at the appropriate time in the mix.

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor DJ ATX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    291

    Default

    I typically put one at the very last spot where I can mix in the next song. Basically a visual cue to tell me to get my ass moving and quit bouncing around the booth or trying to pick up on some chick. hahah

    This is actually a left over from my vinyl days. I use to mark the records with a gold marker on all the breaks and drops. That's how you created cue points back in the day.
    1 Denon DNX1600, 2 Technics SL1200MKII, 1 Pioneer DDJ SX, 1 Reloop Terminal Mix2, 1 MBP running VDJ/Traktor/Serato SL/DJ
    Soundcloud
    Vimeo
    Facebook

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor NathanWard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    291

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C.Lukas1 View Post
    Just curious. Do you cue up 4 beats before the drops for looping purposes?
    Indeed I do. Some songs have vocal phrases at that point, and I use those to tease the audience before I mix the track in.
    BCF 2000
    Traktor Pro 2
    Kontrol X1


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •