Issues with pitch adjustment granularity
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Issues with pitch adjustment granularity

Hi all,

Complete newbie here so please go easy. I used to use Traktor Studio 2 for DJing with my laptop and was pleased with the ability to right-click on the pitch control to get fine adjustments that would let me get the beatmatching pretty much bang-on. I have now taken a step into the present and upgraded to Traktor Pro 2 on Windows 7 and I even purchased a Numark Mixtrack (not Pro as I already have a very good sound card).

Now I am finding I am not able to get the beat match anywhere near as close as I used to be able to. I am enjoying the use of hardware to mix, but am frustrated that I am constantly riding the tempo bend controls to keep everything in time. I am aware that I can adjust the pitch range on Traktor but to get the fine-grained control that I am used to I need to set the range to 2% which makes it impossible to mix tracks that are any more than 3bpm out.

Now my question is: are there any alternatives to Traktor that are likely to help? I would like to try Serator DJ Intro as I am aware that Serato is famed for accuracy and reliability but I cannot even try it out unless I get a controller with an in-built audio card. I would like to avoid this as it may be a waste of time if there is no difference and I already have a very powerful audio card that I do not want to replace.

Also, I know that I can use Syncing but beatmatching is half the fun for me and my old-school friends.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Stephen

The problem isn't Traktor, but your hardware. It's about MIDI.

You are using a standard MIDI controller, which only allows 128 steps between the bottom of your pitch fader to the top. Hence the lack of precision.

You might want to look at a controller with hi-res messages such as the S2.
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast