Traktor S4 Vs Numark 4 Track
    Tech Student
    Between London, England and Marbella, Spain.

Default Traktor S4 Vs Numark 4 Track

Hi People,

Nice to finally post on here. I have been a reader of the forum and a dedicated DJ Tech Tools visitor for years now but this is my first post, so first of all, big up to you all and congratulations on all of your good work! (If DJTT ever need some work done for you in Europe then, I’m your man!)

I'm a hobbyist based in London. I’ve DJ’d in London and Spain and hosted a bilingual radio show but I’m mainly a tech geek with an unhealthy love for music. My current set up consists of 2x Technics 1210MkII, a Pioneer DJM700s, an audio 8DJ and Traktor scratch. I have decided to sell the pioneer to invest in a Traktor controller.

I had my heart set on the Traktor S4 as it looks like an all-round winner for the control I need of the included Traktor Pro 2 software (plus would look good between my 1210's!) AND of course you considerate and intelligent people at DJTT have come up with a mapping which I’m dying to get hold of and try out. …Right that’s the **** kissing out the way….!

Recently however, I've had a spanner thrown into the works, since I saw the Numark 4Trak presented at NAMM. I love the retro silver look, the larger jog wheels, and the raised effects/filter section. I particularly like the fact you can use the mixer section without a laptop and Traktor running (so I can just get out the vinyl’s if I want, instead of powering up the laptop for a quick mix... plus its great feature to have as a backup of laptop failure). One thing I’m worried about is the version of Traktor that comes with the unit is a “4Trak” version which I do not know the limits of, also, I can imagine that it does not come with an upgrade to Traktor scratch which would be available for the full pro 2 version which comes with the S4 (additional plus, no mapping by DJTT as yet…!).