Genre Help

Thread: Genre Help

Tech Convert

Default Genre Help

So, after talking to a few mates who have been into Dance music for years, I was asking them ( im quite new to dj'ing) what is their fave genre?

They said Techno, House, and one said Electro. I went on to Beatport to get the top 10 Electro and most of them are quite dubstep?

What do you all listen to? I personally like Trance but they laughed when i mentioned that, doesnt anyone listen to trance anymore?

Everyone has their niche that they like.

Personally I go between DnB, Breaks, Hardstyle, Hardcore, and Dubstep for what I tend to listen to. But it took me awhile to differentiate between all of it honestly. I've been listening to this stuff basically straight out since I was 16, and I'm 27 today.

It's just a matter of familiarity. And you won't find a lot of Trance parties/events out anymore in my experience, though they do exist.

Play what you love, and love what you play.
    BREAKBEATS AND OTHER MUSICAL ADVENTURES
    Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Mixlr - Twitter

Tech Convert

Thanks for the reply mate,

yeah im kinda in to anything as long as i like it lol, but I want to play more gigs/parties for the local people in my town, im 27 too.

E.g. i love Sofi Needs A ladder by Deadmau5, its under electro in beatport, then today I downloaded the top 10 electro, personally I love them but don't know if people in this town are into dubstep, and it features in these songs, is this really Electro? Suppose I cant argue with Beatport lol

Then on the other hand id love to play the Concrete Angel tune by Gareth Emery, but its trance, unless I wait for a remix

Tech Mentor

I'm on the same page with you. I just can't figure out if a song is a dubstep or an electro? But I mean I really don't care also.

I personally listen Deep and Electro House.

And about your trance question just check the festivals like ADE, Tomorrowland... Lots of people still listen to Trance.

Tech Convert