How is he doing this?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor sparkbro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default How is he doing this?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fs-eH...source=message

    Never really thought too much into Cott's setup... But i don't quite understand what is going on here?

    Is he using the CDJs in timecode? or are they midi or something? Because i don't know much about cdj timecode, but can he still use the play and cue buttons and stuff?

    And then why does he need the soundcard, because it looks like he is also routing his audio from the CDJ's as well?

    Sorry, just a little confused.

    Thanks
    “Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant." Mitchell Kapor
    Setup: TP2 - Vestax Typhoon - Korg NanoPad - Windows 7 x64 - Sony Vaio (Deceased) - Acer Aspire Timeline.
    House Parties - 2x12" Titan Audio PA's, 1xBehringer B1500D Sub

  2. #2
    Tech Guru IznremiX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Regina, Canada
    Posts
    652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sparkbro View Post
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fs-eH...source=message

    Never really thought too much into Cott's setup... But i don't quite understand what is going on here?

    Is he using the CDJs in timecode? or are they midi or something? Because i don't know much about cdj timecode, but can he still use the play and cue buttons and stuff?

    And then why does he need the soundcard, because it looks like he is also routing his audio from the CDJ's as well?

    Sorry, just a little confused.

    Thanks
    Seems like hes using his cdjs with time code cds and traktor (he just started using traktor fairly recently, he was strictly cds before as far as I know)
    Maschine Routine with live musicians
    http://youtu.be/ubEQZSvocto
    fb: http://www.facebook.com/djizn

  3. #3
    Tech Guru keeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    613

    Default

    Theoretically CD timecode should allow what he's doing. That being said, he does have USB cables hooked up to the CDJs, so I couldn't say for sure that he's not using midi.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Jersey/New York
    Posts
    744

    Default

    in my view point it looks like those are CDJ 800s MK2s..they dont support MIDI what i think your mistaking a USB wire for is the power cable
    Macbook Pro 13" | XONE 92 | Traktor Scratch Pro 2 | Audio 8 | (2) NI Kontrol X1 | Technics SL-1210 MK2 | Juno 106 | Adam A7x | BOSS DD7 | Soundbite XL Looper | +more

    soundcloud.com/kevinsantos @kevinsantosdj

  5. #5
    Tech Guru guiltyblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,282

    Default

    Those are 800s no support for midi. He is using timecode. When you get timecode set up right you can cue and such.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru keeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    613

    Default

    You're probably correct. I've played with 800s once and haven't really looked into them much beyond that.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor Calum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    130

    Default

    thats the power cable, not a usb.
    he's using timecode, you can see the cdj's hooked up to the audio 8

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor sparkbro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Calum View Post
    thats the power cable, not a usb.
    he's using timecode, you can see the cdj's hooked up to the audio 8
    Ahhhh. Makes sense. I was quite confused :P

    Thanks everyone
    “Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant." Mitchell Kapor
    Setup: TP2 - Vestax Typhoon - Korg NanoPad - Windows 7 x64 - Sony Vaio (Deceased) - Acer Aspire Timeline.
    House Parties - 2x12" Titan Audio PA's, 1xBehringer B1500D Sub

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •