Question regarding powered speakers.

Default Question regarding powered speakers.

So i've been a bedroom dj for about a year now with my VCI-100 + Traktor. Recently i've recieved a couple of requests for djing some house parties during the summer, but the thing is I don't have any speakers. My budget is $200-$400(including tax), and i'm looking for a pair of 10" speakers. I've seen the JBL Eon 500's but they're too expensive. In a site called idjnow.com I found the 10" gemini dj speakers. In the site are two models, the -->GX1000<--(passive) & the -->GX1001<--(active). My question is, is it possible to buy 1 passive speaker and series it to 1 powered speakers?(Im cheap ) or is it better off to buy 2 powered speakers? I'm new with sound technology. If anyone has good speakers recommendations please post

Would using 2 passive speakers, and buying an external amp, be a cheaper solution? I found these check'em out and tell me what you think -->SoundPack300<--
    Last edited by mcbusta348; 04-23-2009 at 01:01 AM.

I would forgo getting cheap speakers and rent speakers in the meantime and charge the client the rental fees. Make sure you give the rental cost in the estimate or you run the risk of looking like you're pulling a fast one on them.

If you absolutely must have your own speakers, search craigslist for a used eon but make sure you check it out and sound test it before you hand over the cash. But i would strongly suggest saving up the cash and getting a decent passive and amp set up. Remember, you'll get what you pay for. You go cheap on your sound, you get cheap sound.

Tech Mentor