Do I need to know hip-hop?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Mentor

Default Do I need to know hip-hop?

A good friend of mine (a dj) told me today that since I'm just getting started, and want to (ultimately) be a club dj, I have to learn to play hip-hop, because so much club music is remixed top 40 and top 40 is (often) rap/hip hop/r&b.

Any truth to this? I never much cared for "urban" music, and love EDM (and some downtempo stuff) - to be SUCCESSFUL do I need to bend over a little bit here?

(If it makes a difference, I am currently living in the Philadelphia area)
    If you feel something is limiting your creativity, the real problem is that you feel that your creativity can be limited.

YouTube
    SoundCloud

Tech Mentor

If you want to play in a top 40 "club-style" environment, then yes, you should have a knowledge of popular hip hop / rap (if you can even call it that anymore, lol)

Quote Originally Posted by LmnLm3 View Post
    A good friend of mine (a dj) told me today that since I'm just getting started, and want to (ultimately) be a club dj, I have to learn to play hip-hop, because so much club music is remixed top 40 and top 40 is (often) rap/hip hop/r&b.

Any truth to this? I never much cared for "urban" music, and love EDM (and some downtempo stuff) - to be SUCCESSFUL do I need to bend over a little bit here?

(If it makes a difference, I am currently living in the Philadelphia area)
    it depends entirely on the crowd you have and where your playing. if your playing in a club where people absolutlely love the edm scene, theres not much reason to play hip hop, and vice versa. if your playing in an enviorment where its 50/50 then of course you should know some good tracks. if you don't have much of an ear for hip hop (like me) you can just go and look at the billboard top 100, and there are lots of blogs for new up and coming hip hop tracks as well.

Tech Mentor