Torq and general questions...
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    30

    Default Torq and general questions...

    I know these questions get asked all the time so thanks in advance for any help...:

    Ive been DJing for quite a few years but am coming back from a brake and have sold my SL1200s and am now researching digital systems.

    Noting seems perfect to be honest at the moment - tho Im sure controllers will improve...

    I will be mixing tech house.

    I really like the look of Torq and Xponent as its well integrated and Torq looks like a nice program. The fact that I could rewire it to Ableton which I use to produce is a bonus. Im not a big fan of Native Instruments products - although I am considering Traktor alongside a VCI 100 - a favorite for many I understand...

    However I have some concerns about Torq:

    Some say it has issues with sound quality and level management - something to do with the gains and the fact that it has a limiter on the master bus. Considering I spend hours upon hours mixing tracks down - this is not something Im willing to compromise on. I will prob get a dedicated interface alongside down the line for bigger gigs...

    My second concern - apparently in its database it creates analysis files (similar to Abelton) for each track. This is a bit of a hassle as Im not a big fan of filling up my music folder with analysis files - is there a way to create a seperate folder for the analysis files? Also - what information is stored in these files - is it possible to set gain levels for each track? Also do other DVS like Traktor not make these files?

    The one thing Torq is missing for me is the ability to apply effects to the sampler cells / sample channel. I like to drop acapellas during sets I have done with Ableton - and its wicked to use loopers and delays over the top of a mix...How stable is rewire into Ableton Live eg on a Macbook?

    Are there any other concerns about Torq I should know about before investing in an Xponent? I guess at the end of the day it can work well with Traktor also?

  2. #2
    Tech Guru charo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    i AM the cookie
    Posts
    935

    Default

    are you talking about the 1.5 version of torq or the older versions? I think they have really improved it with the upgrade.

    what OS are you using? I had some stability issues with the older version of torq on a vista desktop back when i tried it out.

    torq does create analysis files, traktor doesn't, it modifies the mp3 tag. there are programs other programs out there that don't add analysis files like deckadance and djdecks and virtualdj.

    best of luck

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor JAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    158

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PIGLET View Post

    Some say it has issues with sound quality and level management - something to do with the gains and the fact that it has a limiter on the master bus. Considering I spend hours upon hours mixing tracks down - this is not something Im willing to compromise on. I will prob get a dedicated interface alongside down the line for bigger gigs...
    Well if you're talking about using it with the Xponent I guess this is true to an extent. I have used one with a mate for over 20 gigs now, and the sound outputs were just not loud enough for some of the gigs we played. And this probably has something to do with the inbuilt limiter, although I'm not certain.
    The master outs on the first one I owned went dodgy, and every single track had a LOT of crackling on it. It was pretty much useless, so M-Audio replaced it.

    My second concern - apparently in its database it creates analysis files (similar to Abelton) for each track. This is a bit of a hassle as Im not a big fan of filling up my music folder with analysis files - is there a way to create a seperate folder for the analysis files? Also - what information is stored in these files - is it possible to set gain levels for each track? Also do other DVS like Traktor not make these files?
    Yeah, it creates .tqd files for every track you play or store in your collection. It stores them in the same folder as the track itself so things can get a bit annoying alright with having two types of file, both with the same name.
    Traktor does store its own type of files, but they are all stored together in specialised folders that you specify when you install it.


    Are there any other concerns about Torq I should know about before investing in an Xponent? I guess at the end of the day it can work well with Traktor also?
    Well, re-mapping the controls in it is just a straight up pain in the hole. It's easy to do the simplest of things, just right click the control you want to assign and move a knob/jog/button. But you can't multi map things in Torq itself, so each button is restricted to one command. To get more advanced, I think you need to use Bomes' Midi Translator.

    I gave up on Torq before I got to that point.

    Other than that, the Xponent is a decent piece of kit, not the most solid, looks a bit like a toy, but does the job it's designed for. Scratching on it is hopeless and recently my mates jogs have randomly stopped sending signals, so when you move them, nothing happens and Traktor freezes.
    We've gone through three of them in about 9 months, first one master outputs went dodgy, second had a drink spilt over it and on the third one now.

    I could just be unlucky though, so read around and see what others say!

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    30

    Default

    thanks both

    Charo - Im using OSX and it will be with Torq 1.5 if I go for it...

    JAC - thats good to know re: the M Audio output level. I assume you did not have enough level on the DJ mixer to bring the Torq level in line with the decks?
    However I doubt this is to do with the limiter - as that simply limits the max output to 0db - which is the max digital output in any system without clipping/distortion. What you describe above is probably due to the Digital to Analogue stage in the Xponent audio card not being amplified internally as loud as it could be.
    However this can usually be dealt with the hardware mixer gains...but if the previous DJ is pushing the turntable analogue gains into the red (as the often do) - it may be difficult to match that level without a very hot (read loud) soundcard going into the digital line in...

    My concern was with the audio mix engine in Torq and the supposed 'flatness' I once read in this forum...but it may be simply someone giving the track too much gain and the limiter being worked too hard...which would cause the track to pump and loose dynamics...

    Mmm Im finding it really tough to make a decision. I guess its partly because Im just not that fond of Native Instruments. And the VCI 100 just looks, I dunno, funny...

    Maybe I should consider the VCI300 with itch...at least that will be solid as hell with a Pro controller (and price tag). Maybe I can Jack that thru Ableton if I want FX...

    If M Audio brought out a more professional controller I'd be all over it...

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor JAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    158

    Default

    Nah at the time, we were mixing internally only and ramping up the output too high just led to distortion, wasn't pretty!

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JAC View Post
    Nah at the time, we were mixing internally only and ramping up the output too high just led to distortion, wasn't pretty!
    ah right - yeah you cant really run digital systems into the red-sounds awful...:eek:

    Now Ive got my eye on one of those Otus controllers...

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard B-Naut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia - U.S.A.
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Piglet,

    I DJ using Torq with the vinyl control. My PC laptop is Windows 7 64Bit, 4Gb RAM and I've been using Torq for 2 years now.

    Pros:
    1. Any VST effect can be imported and used with Torq.
    2. Easy layout.
    3. Cheaper than Serato and Traktor.
    4. Integrates well with Trigger Finger. (Hadn't attempted other controllers yet.)

    Cons:
    1. When it works, it works well! When it crashes (as it did occasionally on 2 previous PCs) you're screwed.
    2. Scratching is sketchy. Torq has what they call "cue drift" where the song will float forward or backward. If you scratch a sample that starts at say, 3-o'clock on your vinyl, you may be at 5-o'clock scratching the same spot cuz of the cue drifts away from where you started. I scratch with Torq in a band, and I find I'm watching my screen more than paying attention to what's going on around me.

    Hope this helps. Sorry for the late reply. I'm new here.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •