HP Beats with Traktor Scratch Pro 2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default HP Beats with Traktor Scratch Pro 2

Do any of you have experience with the HP Beats laptop (Hewlett Packard Pavilion dm4-3090se)? I know the Beats branding doesn't make it a better laptop for music, but price and specs seem pretty decent on this machine.

Tech Wizard

You should also look into the Dell XPS 15. I got one for myself this year at christmas and love it. Engadget.com has some great reviews for laptops and have reviewed both the HP pavilion and the Dell XPS.

Tech Wizard

I have an HP with Beats Audio. Had a few hassles getting all the audio working properly. But Ive been gigging with it for around 4 months now. Seems stable.
    I cant recall the issues I had but I think not using beatsaudio helped a lot.

Tech Guru

Dell XPS are known to not be the greatest at handling real time audio, and I know quite few people have had issues w/ the HP Envy w/ Beats Audio as well but I guess thats not exactly the same as what you are looking at

Tech Mentor

They're fine. I taught a intro to DJ'ing class for a while and the kids that brought their "beats" laptops always seemed to have issues out of the box. Granted, they were also their daily computers. After some optimization they ran without issues. The specs are more than capable.

I personally thought they were built rather cheaply and did not like the high gloss finish/branding. It scratches easily and the screen was a bit wobbly for my tastes. If you're going after durability, this is not the laptop for you.

If you're willing to drop $800, check out the Dell Precision M4400. I loved mine when I had it - they are built like tanks, run very cool, and have some of the nicest screens I've ever seen on a laptop. Very professional looking, too.
    Last edited by sss18734; 03-13-2012 at 03:08 PM.