Ableton --> Logic
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    123

    Default Ableton --> Logic

    Using Ableton now. Wanna switch to Logic just to try it. Also the macbook + logic seem better because Ableton is lagging when my set gets big. I don't think learning Logic will be too much of an issue. Does Logic Pro 9 have everything Ableton does? Im mainly looking for the Eq's and compressor's logic have because the quality of them is good. Also the preset sounds are better.
    Thanks,
    Jed

  2. #2
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,745

    Default

    Yes and no. It doesn't launch clips, obviously, and the closest thing it has to MIDI effects is buried in the Environment window, which is asinine and kind of pointless, though I'm told it's really powerful if you can wrap your head around it.

    It's got some awesome features and, other than those 2 things, is IMHO easier and faster than Live at basically everything...as long as you don't rely on those midi effects.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Hammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Funny, I'm on the complete reverse. I'm looking at changing from Logic Pro which I've used for years and putting some time into Ableton Live. In response to the question I think you will love Logic. Very easy to get on with. Just know now, not for Live purposes.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Cook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,622

    Default

    Im in the exact same boat, seen that logic is now app-only and only $200 is a steal, considering selling my ableton lisense for it
    DJM800 | 2xCDJ2000 | RMX1000 | Adidas HD25's
    2011 MBP | Traktor 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Scratch Live | SL2
    Mac Pro | Ableton | Access Virus C | Maschine
    Facebook || Soundcloud || Twitter

  5. #5
    Tech Guru guiltyblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,282

    Default

    I think I'm making the move to logic as well from ableton.

  6. #6
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jedkleb View Post
    Also the macbook + logic seem better because Ableton is lagging when my set gets big.
    And what makes you think it will be any different with Logic in this aspect?

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Figure I ask the question since the topic is on here. I want to do my own re-rubs and remixes. Is Ableton or Logic the best to use? How about Cubase and Fruityloops?

    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,745

    Default

    They can all do it. There's isn't a best.

  9. #9
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    ^+1

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor elio_xh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    273

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mostapha View Post
    They can all do it. There's isn't a best.
    This sums it up. The fact that there producers around the world have "made it big" using every software out there is proof that it doesn't really matter. They have different layouts, and what one person prefers another one may not. Don't choose a software because it's what everyone else is using, pick one that's best suited for you.
    DJ: Traktor Kontrol S4, Audio-Technica ATH-M50
    Production: LPD 8, Keystation 49, Fast-Track Pro, Equator D5 monitors

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •