EQ Different Song Levels
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard ceezo66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    79

    Default EQ Different Song Levels

    Hey yall,

    I'm trying to EQ my song levels with little success. Plz help.

    I'm using Traktor Pro as an internal mixer and using VCI100 + Echo Audio 4.

    I know I can see the volume on the channel fader but I don't find it to be accurate. Also, Traktor Pro's powerful autogain feature does not seem to be powerful enough.

    Is there a way to get the traditional green yellow red levels in traktor pro?

    It's really annoying when I have the crossfader a quarter of the way and one song is basically inaudible and another song will completely overpower the current song.

    What can I do?

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    307

    Default

    Ask DvlsAdvct for the name of the program that equalizes the sound of all your songs to one uniform volume. In the mean time, you dont seem like youre using your headphones to monitor. You should be able to hear both and go "whoa this track is stupid loud!" Then you can lower the gain till it sounds better and Xfade nice and slow and adjust volume and gain as needed, tweaking EQ's along the way. Hope that helps
    Silly DJ loops are for kids!

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard ceezo66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Thanks very much for that info. Does this program equalize on the fly? If not will the quality of my music be affected by software equalization?

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    307

    Default

    From what he told me, you do it ahead of time. Even still for now, I really recommend monitoring both decks in your headphones and make sure everything sounds ok.
    Silly DJ loops are for kids!

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard ceezo66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Will do. Thanks.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor DJPhaidon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    481

    Default

    Platinum Notes can do it. Check out the site for more info

    http://www.platinumnotes.com/

    13" MacBook Pro 2.7 i7 w/dual Raid0 OWC SSDs - S4 - Ableton Live 8- Lemur- iPad 2

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    307

    Default

    thats the program!!!!!!! man my memory is retarded at times hehehehehe
    Silly DJ loops are for kids!

  8. #8
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    Yeah, you have to do it ahead of time.

    The stuff on the fly you do yourself...
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  9. #9
    Tech Guru charo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    i AM the cookie
    Posts
    935

    Default

    there is also mp3gain as well for this.
    We don't believe in the star system. We want the focus to be on the music. If we have to create an image, it must be an artificial image. That combination hides our physicality and also shows our view of the star system. It is not a compromise-daftpunk

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard LastOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife Island, Spain
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Did you try to adjust the crossfader behaviour with the knob in the connections panel of the VCI? maybe you forget it, like me ;-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •