Advice on how to choose a selection for a mix?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Advice on how to choose a selection for a mix?

I mostly play dubstep but I also enjoy playing other genres of EDM as well as hip-hop, disco, funk, jazz and reggae. I'm fairly new to DJ'ing myself but have been involved in the EDM scene for a while. I am just really interested to hear all your personal advice/technique on how you choose a selection for your mixes.

Do you go by the songs key?

Do you go by the songs genre?

What exactly do you consider when deciding song A & B so to speak when mixing?

What are some things to look for when picking out two songs to mix especially with EDM (focus on mostly dubstep, some house, minimal & trance)?

Anything else you feel is helpful to add is certainly appreciated a lot!

Looking forward to picking your brains a little bit.
    DJ RERX (Dee-Jay-Ree-Wrecks)
    15" MacBook Pro/iPhone 4S/TouchOSC/Traktor Pro 2/Kontrol S4/Akai MPK Mini
    Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/d-burns420
    Beatport DJ: http://dj.beatport.com/rerx

I tend to mix in my head all throughout the day, so by the time I get home I've sort of got these transitions in my head. Then I check tempos, see if they're similar, and try it out. I try and gauge the energy of both songs. Matching the key isn't really important, as a lot of mixes still sound good even not key matched. Another thing I look for is elements of the songs that lend themselves to mixing. An example of this is In My Mind (Axwell Mix). In the intro it has double time kicks and then a massive snare hit with a delay, then no kicks for a beat. During this I'll drop out the outgoing song in the space with no beats, and bring it back in when the kicks restart. Then finally the buildup to the buildup finishes and I'll drop out the outgoing track completely.

Sorry if I rambled a bit during that. Example of it in this mix.

In My Mind is the second track.